Review – Naked Heat

Naked Heat
by Richard Castle

The second novel by our favorite TV writer is much more involved than his first. Everything about this book stays true to Castle’s character, making every word in and on the book great fun to read. This novel takes cases, characters and commentary from the second season of the show Castle and works it into a new investigation.  It is just like watching an extended episode of the show, with different names for our main cast. Fans will enjoy this novel, simply to take the wild ride through Richard Castle’s mind, distorting the show to pulp fiction.  Yes, it is a fictional TV character “writing” a book, but hey, it is a fantastic marketing plan in my opinion, quite involved and it simply appeals to me.  The writing is meant to be a little bit goofy…just like the show.

This story involves the death of a page 6 scandal writer who has made no friends in her career resulting in a rather large suspect list, most of them famous. We have a singer, a baseball hero, stalkers, mobsters, politicians and hookers to find the killer among.  We also have our leads Rook (Castle) and Heat (Beckett) who have unresolved feelings and sexual tension from the first book, will they allow them to cool or possibly rekindle?  You have to read it to find out.  

What a fun book. I enjoy murder/mysteries and this one is well written and keeps you guessing. I found it better than the first book because it is more fleshed out and a lot more involved and intricate.  The narrator is third person, but you stay with the main characters, Rook, Heat, Raley and Ochoa and are usually one step behind what they know because the narrative goes something like…”the name on the list was a name they all knew”, or, “the call was made to someone they had already interviewed”. You HAVE to keep reading to catch up! Heat and Rook have some great scenes, and Castle’s insight into Heat’s mind is pretty interesting too. Makes you wish you could watch Beckett’s reactions to reading the story!  

A must read for any fan of the show. I am a big fan, so I give it 4 stars.   It even has a home on my over-stuffed shelves.  I am excited to get my greedy hands on the new one, Heat Rises, to see what mayhem Castle has fabricated from his “real” life.  Enjoy!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Mystery and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy!

