Castle – what is going on?!

Ok, huge deviation from what I normally talk about, but who else watches Castle?  I record a few shows, one of which is this goofy cop procedural.  I just watched this week’s show last night and was hugely disappointed in how Kate and Rick act like they are alone wherever they are.  They don’t ever secure the areas they start discussing the case in, murder scenes, empty parking garages, piers…  They are caught so easily in this two part episode it is embarrassing!  And sitting at the pier with their only link to a “national emergency” until the bad guys catch up!?  I know this show is silly, that reality is sacrificed for a good story, that they will always drop important case information in the interrogation room in front of witnesses, but come the hell on!  They look like complete rubes on their first foray into the big city.  Shucks.  Kate is supposed to be the best homicide detective in NYC!  Argh.  And aren’t they supposed to call in their position at all times after being caught too easily before?

I love the characters, even though Kate has some weird slow speech thing and Castle gets many of his case breakthroughs from his mom and daughter without giving them credit.  But this really kind of turned me off from the show.  I think the creative license has been pushed to the limit these days, and it finally made me finally yell “Yea right!” and turn the TV off in disgust.  I will be watching next week, but I am not that excited about it, and I will be looking for some sort of redemption from those writers.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Mystery, TV Show and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy!

