Review – River Marked (Mercy Thompson #6)

River Marked
by Patricia Briggs
series book #6

This is the 6th book in the Mercy Thompson series and I have to say that this series is one of my absolute favorites. Adam (alpha werewolf) and Mercy (shapeshifter, coyote) are away together on a camping trip orchestrated by the fae. People are dying on this stretch of the Columbia River and these two are, of course, going to be in the group who tries to stop the killer.  They are supposedly away for a romantic vacation, interesting for us, not so relaxing for them.

This book was so much fun because we have a whole new setting, people, gods and problems. We find more about Mercy’s background and parentage and see more of her family than ever before. The pack, Stefen, Samuel and Jesse are all periphery in this novel while Mercy and Adam enjoy being alone and together (delicious and sweet though without any graphic smexy bits) and meet new and interesting people.  This is a bummer on one hand because those side characters are so well rounded and their lives move forward in each novel, but this book really keeps the series fresh by going in such a different direction.  But it doesn’t mean I didn’t miss them!  Briggs does such a great job of fully fleshing out the “people” in Mercy’s life, us as readers come to care for them as she does and really want to make sure everyone is ok.

Also, not as though Mercy’s previous foes have not been terrifying, but this one was particularly creepy and scary!  Briggs has done a lot of research and her bad guy can be found in Indian petroglyphs.  If that isn’t scary cool, I don’t know what is.  It kills some people and we get to see it happen.  Pretty awful in more ways that one.  It is a fast read because once you get started, you simply cannot put it down.  If you like Mercy, you will LOVE this book!  If you like urban fantasy with strong heroines, magic and lots of action, you need to do yourself a favor and pick them up. The series starts a little slowly according to some reviews I have read (I can’t remember that far back, but the series does end up grabbing you quite effectively, Mercy is loved by many readers).  Patricia Briggs is a master in this exponentially growing genre and her novels are some of the best you can find.  4 Stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Patricia Briggs, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy!

