Review – Zombie Cinderella (Zombie Fairy Tales #1)

Zombie Cinderella

By Kevin Richey

Happy Friday!  I feel like I have too many books going these days and can’t seem to finish them, so I grabbed this little beauty to help me feel accomplished.  Odd but true. 

These Zombie Fairy Tales are being released as short stories throughout 2012 on the 13th of each month.  I nabbed this story for my kindle free from Amazon.com.  I think they are trying to addict us to them so we pay for the next installment, which may just work.  Besides being pretty nasty with blood and juices, this storyline step-mother and her daughters are so much worse than I remember, they actually deserve what they get.  I wonder if my mind only remembers the Disney versions.  Hmmmm, I need to check out some Grimm again.

This story was so gross, yet full of warped funny parts.  Well, I suppose it is kind of like the juxtaposition of turning well-loved childhood fairy tales into zombie fests!  You can taste test the humor here when our zombified Cinderella tastes brains for the first time, “And she thought cheerfully to herself how much it was similar to scooping out the innards of a pumpkin, and that lent the occasion a festive feeling.”  Ewww.

These tales seem to be quite irreverent and will enjoy being disgusting and shocking.  However, they are really well-written and I believe the stories will be connected somehow.  There has been a plague in Cinderella’s village and it will most likely be the cause of many fairy tale zombies.  If you liked the idea of all those books like Pride & Prejudice and Zombies you will probably like these.  Though they are light-hearted (as light-hearted as vengeance seeking zombies can be) and so far don’t really have a moral or lesson to the story, they are simply twisted and fun.  I give the first one 3 stars.

The February release was Hansel and Gretel are Dead and I guess they give that cannibal witch quite a surprise…

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Dark Fantasy, Fiction, Review. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – Zombie Cinderella (Zombie Fairy Tales #1)

  1. Tim Moon says:

    I just bought the entire Zombie Fairy Tales collection. I can’t wait to read all the gory details.

Don't be shy!

