Review – Once Dead, Twice Shy

Once Dead, Twice Shy

By Kim Harrison

I must be on a Kim Harrison kick!  But let me tell you, I have been looking forward to reading this series for a while and my good friend just loaned it to me, so I HAD to delay reading my bookclub book again and dig right in.

Madison is dead.  She was killed on prom night by a dark reaper, but stole his amulet which keeps her grounded to earth with a semblance of a body.  So she is still going to school and living with her dad, but hanging out with the light reaper who was supposed to keep her alive, but obviously failed.  He is now hanging out with her to keep her safe from the dark reaper (who wants to finish her off and get his amulet back) and training her on how to use the amulet she stole.  She also ends up getting a guardian angel.

Madison doesn’t know what she is doing, but she tries to do the right thing.  She is brave and smart but new to her school and doesn’t have any friends.   There is a lot of action, a little bit of romance, a lot of humor and a very interesting take on what angels do with eternity.

The only thing a bit off was the teen behavior.  Madison stands out visually with purple hair and skull and crossbone earrings, but she reads like more of a preppy, nerdy girl.  No cursing, she is super nice, polite and is really worried about getting grounded, even though she is sneaking out of the house all the time.  It was a minor thing to me, but it wasn’t all that realistic.  Madison’s romantic interest is also is quite steady.  I am sure there are kids like that, but he never wavers, even when faces down some pretty intense peer pressure.

This book flies and it is a light and pretty easy read.  There is a lot of world-building and you really don’t know what is going on until you are almost finished with the book, but things do become clear so just stick with it.  Now that I know what is happening and I am invested in the characters, I am very excited to read the next book in the series because I think the ending of this book sets it up well.  Madison has gathered a motley crew and it will be interesting to see where Harrison takes them.  3 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Kim Harrison, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – Once Dead, Twice Shy

  1. Nice review. I am intrigued… YET another to add to the reading list. At this rate I’m going to have to defy death too.
    Gwynneth

    • ocdreader says:

      LOL – Me too, there is so much good stuff out there, new and old. I wish I could stop time or stop sleeping…

Don't be shy!

