Review – The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong

The Gathering

By Kelley Armstrong

I am so sad that The Calling isn’t available until April.  I realize it is only a few weeks away…but man!  I wanted to scream in frustration at the cliffhanger at the end of this book!  Armstrong has been taking lessons from Karen Marie Moning (read the Fever series and you will see what I mean!  My cousin calls them cliffhangers from hell).

Anyway, this book sucked me in at the end of Chapter 1.  I simply could not put it down.  I snuck in reading time wherever I thought I could get away with it.  Pretty bad of me because I neglected quite a few things, though it was not the first time and won’t be the last.  I have read almost all of the Women of the Underworld books as well as the Darkest Powers trilogy, but you honestly do not need to have read those to enjoy and appreciate this book.  I think there are few names that sounded familiar, but this is a separate situation entirely, so far anyway.  The Darkest powers trilogy, also YA, were good, but not nearly as consuming as this start to Darkness Rising. 

Maya was adopted and she lives in an extremely small isolated village owned by the St. Cloud research facility, with her loving parents and friends.  She has a faded birthmark of a paw print.  She is great with animals, her dad is the park ranger basically, and they live on the preserve.  She also runs a rehabilitation center for wounded wildlife.  She is just turning 16.

There is a lot that is unknown and uncovered in this book, but there are still so many open issues that the cliffhanger just kills me.  There is a little romance, snarky teen dialogue, a great relationship with Maya and her parents and interesting secrets afoot.  You would think in a village of 200, you would know everyone’s secrets, but they are just waiting to be uncovered.  The reader finds things out as Maya does, so while you may know something looks funky, she may not investigate right away.  You have to be a tiny bit patient with her.  If you like YA with a paranormal twist, you should do yourself a favor and pick this book up.  According to Amazon, The Calling will be available April 10…so now that you know about it, check it out!  4.5 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Kelley Armstrong, Urban Fantasy, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong

  1. beckyday6 says:

    I can’t wait to read this book, it’s waiting for me patiently on my shelf, as are many of the Women of the Otherworld books, so far I’ve only read Bitten but I really hope I can get round to the next few books soon! But my tbr pile is so big….. :S

    • ocdreader says:

      I LOVE the women of the underword books! But I understand about the TBR list, they can get scary! I stress myself out about it sometimes which is funny, since reading is how I relax! 🙂

Don't be shy!

