Booking Through Thursday Q&A : Lessons

Booking Through Thursday: Lessons

This is a weekly meme Q&A hosted by Booking Through Thursday.   To post more and to have something to write besides reviews, I am going to try participating for a while and see how that works out.

A while ago, I interviewed my readers for a change, and my final question was, “What question have I NOT asked at BTT that you’d love me to ask?” I got some great responses and will be picking out some of the questions from time to time to ask the rest of you. Like now.

Ted asks:

Have you ever used a book to instruct someone of something or is there anyone for whom you would like to do that? (I don’t mean a text book for a class, but a work of fiction or non-fiction that would get a certain message across either through plot or character). What is the book and what do you wish to impart?

Don’t forget to leave a link to your actual response (so people don’t have to go searching for it) in the comments—or if you prefer, leave your answers in the comments themselves!

What an interesting question.  When I first read it, I thought no, I am not that devious…and then I thought about it and realized that sadly, I guess I am.  I gave my sister the bookEat, Love, Praybecause she was unhappy and I wanted her to read about another woman who was also unhappy and what she did about it.   I don’t think I was trying to teach a lesson necessarily, but more to let her know she isn’t alone, other people have problems and make huge changes in their lives.  Also, I enjoyed the book and thought she would as well. 

Otherwise, I push books on my family all the time.  Though I have one family member I worked on pretty closely.  I had to push Sookie Stackhouse and Ilona Andrews on her to teach her there were many fun and escapist books out there, not just Harry Potter!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Booking Through Thursday Q&A and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Booking Through Thursday Q&A : Lessons

  1. LOL, I gave Eat, Pray, Love to my sister as well. She watched the movie and when we talked I go “I got the book”, and she was all over it in a flash. I haven’t even read it yet. x)
    The first Sookie Stackhouse book was a gift to my birthday, I haven’t read it yet. I’ve never heard of those books before, but I’m looking forward to the read because I trust the taste of the friend who gave it to me. =)
    Thanks for sharing this post and thanks for stepping by my blog!

  2. On one level I think we do it every time we recommend or give a book to someone. You want them to “get” something from it.

Don't be shy!

