A is for African Gray

I have little chew marks in the corner of my bookcase and a few of my books bindings have been gnawed on thanks to Mikey.  We let him out of his cage to stomp around the house and he tends to get into trouble.  Usually you know he is up to no good because you will hear him say “No! get out of there!” as he chews on something he shouldn’t.  He is around 20 years old and has lived with my mom, my sister and now me, he could live a total of 70 years or so.  He has tormented boyfriends at my sister’s apartment, tortured my step-dad by yelling over his music (the bird still drops F-bombs occasionally, wonder where he heard those!?) and tries to boss my dog around. He and my husband yell to each during the day, “Hey Ron”, “yeah Mikey”, “come heeeeerrrrrreeeeee.”  He tends to cobble things together and it can be pretty amazing.  Mikey really only talks when we leave the room or when you are on the phone.  I have learned that I say “cool, uh huh, oh wow, yea, ok” during conversations.  He also says “Ok – bye” the entire time.  Unfortunately, he won’t speak on command, so unless people stay a few hours, they don’t get the fully Mikey experience.

Right now, it is after dinner and he is yelling at the dog, giving himself treats, whistling and of course, burping and farting.  His humor is fairly low-brow.  Some of his catch phrases are: “Bark, bark, bark.  Meow… Kill the kitty!”  He will then proceed to laugh wildly.  He wolf whistles, tells the dog to stop barking and will say “Time to go to bed” after yawning at night.  He greets me in the morning with “Good morning” and “Wake up, wake up”!

He is messy and loud, he has drawn blood a few times, the dog and cat give him wide berth, but he’s great because I am never talking to myself when he is around.  That crazy bird helps keep me sane.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2012, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A is for African Gray

  1. Wonderful… Bird.

    Great start… to the challenge “A” is for Awesome!
    Jeremy [Retro-Zombie]
    A to Z Co-Host
    IZOMBIE: Visit the Madness

  2. Ariel Swan says:

    I love looking at people’s book shelves. I just read The Winter Sea and it is there in your shelf (assuming that is yours). Also I love parrots. I am so glad to hear your family has passed Mikey down. I won’t let myself get one because I am not ready to let my house become a bird house and I wouldn’t cage one indefinitely. I hate that some people do. So many parrots are unhappy out there and they really suffer for it. Your seems happy though. I love that he says so much. I’d stay a few hours to hear it. Also – saw your previous post on Rebecca. I am a true lover of ghosty stories, but I admit I haven’t gotten through that one yet. Good for you for finishing and I love that you said you wish you had read it with an English class. Being a HS english teacher that always makes me happy to hear. Thanks fro stopping by my blog, please do again. I am going to go ahead and follow.

    • ocdreader says:

      It is my bookshelf – I should take a new picture because things keep shifting. But I haven’t read the Winter Sea yet – would you recommend it? It is fun that we are all in this challenge together. 🙂

  3. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog!
    Now I feel the need to meet Mikey! Maybe you could video him so we can all share in his obvious awesomeness! 🙂
    I look forward to reading throughout the challenge! Great post and thanks again!

    • ocdreader says:

      LOL – I thought about trying to get video, or audio even, but I have to figure out how to sneak up on him! I will try to work on that, folks would get a kick out of it. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. nel says:

    What fun! My mom had a little parakeet once that actually would say a few words. Birds intrigue me but I am also intimidated by them a little. I think it is because I watched that crazy movie The Birds at a young age… should of never watched it…
    until next time… nel

    • ocdreader says:

      Luckily I have never seen that movie! Though, Mikey has a big beak and it can be pretty scary. I would love a little cockatiel, it could bite and not hurt!
      I was always traumatized by Jaws…I still have a hard time in the ocean!

  5. My mom had an African Gray for years that she got in Germany when my dad was stationed there. That damn thing was loud and obnoxious and made a lot of racket but was hella entertaining. When they’re quiet, watching birds is a bit like watching fish tanks sometimes.

Don't be shy!

