B is for Bookclub

I love belonging to a bookclub and let me tell you why.

  1. I really miss taking an English class where they make you read a book you would hardly ever choose yourself, then discuss it in class.  The differing points of view and alternative book choices expand your mind and cause me to read much more closely.  Also, on my own I end up reading way too many “fun” books which can be a little like candy as they don’t cause me to think about too much.  Bookclubs make me read things with some meat on their bones, discussion-worthy.
  2. The enjoyment of a book is drawn out and savored for a month and alternatively the stinkers can be laughed off or moaned over, or even blamed on someone else!
  3. It can be a bonding experience over laughter, wine and a good book.  You make friends and memories and have a good time doing it.

My current bookclub, I think this is the fourth or fifth, is awesome.  I knew only one person and just four meetings later, all the ladies are becoming my friends and the book choices have been pretty good, the members actually show up to meetings and we meet every month.  I couldn’t ask for anything more!  Are you currently or have you ever been in a bookclub?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2012, Bookclub. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to B is for Bookclub

  1. Sisyphus47 says:

    Reblogged this on Of Glass & Paper and commented:
    I am convinced!

  2. Layla says:

    I’ve been a part of three failed book clubs, if that counts :p

    I’ve always wanted what you described, but have never found a group that actually committed to it.

    Congratulations on your new friends 😀

  3. Anjali says:

    And bookclubs are where you meet your best friends – Books! Loved it 😀

  4. Devin says:

    I’m not in a book club at the moment, but I have been in the past and I agree, they are great fun! One of my favorite ones was a bit unique because instead of all reading the same book and then talking about it, we got together each bringing a different book. Then after we talked about our reads, we let each other borrow the books. 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      That sounds awesome! We bring books to share, but only a few of us are dedicated enough, or have the time to read multiple books per month.

  5. Mina B. says:

    Bookclub! That’s a good one. I’ve never belonged to one except for the networking I do online. Sadly, I’ve never found a group of woman (off line) that love to read and write as much as I do.

    Great post! 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      Major bummer! Mine have mostly been from working at large companies and finding a few folks that like to read. Lately it has been through friends, thank goodness! I haven’t been in one for 4 years, this new one was a very pleasant surprise!

  6. Love the title of your blog! Nice posgts as well. I’m joining your blog and would love it if you’d take a peek at mine and thing about joining…

  7. I went to a book club for two or three times, then moved. Now I’m in a writing club and with family stuff, it’s hard to spend more time on ‘me’ stuff. I miss it though.

    • ocdreader says:

      I moved away from three really good bookclubs as well, bummer. Well, the writing club sounds like a good one, though you are there more for a purpose then to hang. It will circle back around when you are ready!

  8. Michelle says:

    I’ve never joined a book club, but it sounds like fun. I agree that sometimes we read in our comfort zone too much and we (I) need a push to read something we normally wouldn’t.

    Great post,
    Michelle 🙂
    http://www.michelle-pickett.com/blog

  9. lynn w. proctor says:

    i am not or have i ever been in a book club–keep meaning too—sounds great—-makes me think of the movie “the jane austen book club”

  10. nel says:

    I have never belonged to a book club but I do love to read. I read and review for 4 different publishers. I enjoy doing it and it is a great way to get books for our library at church.
    until next time…nel

  11. Archna says:

    I love this recognition for literature and friendship. My life would be complete if I had a writers group and a book club.

    I also love the name of this blog. 🙂

  12. I absolutely positively LOVE my book club! I read and write YA and most of our picks are not YA so it’s good for me to read outside my genre! And we have so much fun!

    Great B post! I did my B post on Book Clubs last year. 🙂

  13. Marcie says:

    I would love to join a book club, but so far I have not found one near me. But maybe I can start with an online bookclub.

  14. Damyanti says:

    Cool B post, I adore book clubs. Saw your tweet asking what number you are on the list– you are 785.
    –Damyanti, Co-host A to Z Challenge April 2012

    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

  15. Hi – stopping by for the A to Z challenge. I wish I had a bookclub to join; the closest I have is goodreads online. My work has hosted a few topical book discussions which are always interesting.

    You know, I just realized. Maybe *I* need to start a book club!

Don't be shy!

