C is for Cookie

I have a few things in life that I simply love doing, reading, hiking and baking.  I am going to share with you one of my absolutely favorite cookie recipes.  It is a super simple recipe, one for which I generally have all the ingredients on hand.  They are so yummy and enjoyed by almost everyone I have offered them to.  It was found in a Land O Lakes butter holiday magazine 6 or 7 years ago.  They are cakey and a little chewy, like mini brownies, though it depends on the cake mix brand you use.  Duncan Hines makes them flat and there is another brand (I need to figure out which one!) where they stay puffed and rounded.  They are both delicious.  I love to include these on my holiday cookie plates, or I make them when it is cold outside, or well, whenever.  My entire family knows and loves these tasty little treats.  Also, if you make them small cookies you get around 6 dozen…Mmmm, chocolate chai cookies…

Chocolate Chai Latte Cookies

Cookie

  • 1 package butter recipe chocolate cake mix (though I use any chocolate type)
  • 3 T instant chai tea latte mix (generally found by the cocoas/coffees, I get mine at Trader Joes)
  • ½ cup Butter – softened
  • 1 egg
  • 3 T milk
  • 1 cup chocolate chips (they call for milk, I use semi-sweet or white)

Drizzle

  • 1 ½ cups powdered sugar
  • 1 ½ tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3-5 tsp water

Heat oven to 350F.  Combine all cookie ingredients except chocolate chips in a large bowl.  (I start with the butter and chai latte mix, then add the cake mix a little at a time until the egg and milk is needed, but it really doesn’t matter).  Beat at medium speed until well mixed and smooth.  Stir in chocolate chips by hand.  It is a thick, sticky dough.

Shape dough into ¾ inch balls.  If using your hands, butter them so they don’t stick.  I use a cookie scoop and it makes nice little even balls.  Place 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheets.  Bake for 9-11 minutes or until tops are set and cracked.  Cool 2 minutes; remove from cookie sheets.   Cool completely.

Combine all drizzle ingredients except water in a small bowl.  Add enough water for desired drizzling consistency.  Drizzle over cooled cookies (I use a fork and drizzle like mad with all cookies on a sheet so I don’t make too large a mess).  Store between sheets of waxed paper in container with tight-fitting lid.  I store them in ziplock bags, and they are just fine!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to C is for Cookie

  1. Oh goodness. Chocolate and chai in one? Definitely two of my favorite things. They look and sound delicious. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

    And thanks for visiting my blog today!!

    Alana @ writercize.blogspot.com
    With you on the A to Z travels!

  2. Damyanti says:

    Those cookies sound scrumptious!!

    –Damyanti, Co-host A to Z Challenge April 2012

    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

  3. Nikki says:

    Coookieeess 🙂 This was a very lovely post, I’m definitely trying these as soon as I can! They look delicious!

    I like your blog and am following, good luck with the rest of the challenge, I’m looking forward to your other posts!

    Nikki – inspire nordic

  4. Those sound soooo delicious! Chai + chocolate – why didn’t I think of that? haha

  5. mmmmmm chai cookies! Do you ever bring those in for your co-workers? That would make you an awesome person!

  6. JC says:

    mmmmmmm chai cookies sound delicious! Are you the awesome type of person that brings them in for your co-workers? You really should do that. That would make you cool!

  7. Archna says:

    I love the take on this one! This is one to print out. Thanks!

    ps~ I love the words cookie and drizzle, together. 🙂

Don't be shy!

