F is for Fact from Fiction

Thank goodness authors pull from fact to write their fiction.  It is the only way I can actually have conversations with people about advanced science and physics theories – thank you Michael Crichton!  Ok, so I don’t have too many of those, but at least I know what is going on in my Discover magazine.  I have a basic understanding of nanotechnology from Prey, chaos theory from Jurassic Park and the idea of multiple worlds because of Timeline.   Also, Dan Brown, taught me about the science experiments currently happening about the weight of the soul, or being able to affect electrons with our minds.  Wow!  I loved The Lost Symbol mainly because of that “wild” story line.  Diana Gabaldon showed me what the Scottish Highlands might have been like in the 1800s and what would be like to live there.  She also placed some of the events that happened over there in the English and American history timeline I have a tenuous grasp on.  Anne Rice, the Shroud of Turin…wow, I never really understood the story until you showed it through Lestat’s eyes.  Lisa See, I can’t believe women used to bind their feet like that!   Charlaine Harris helped to remind me all about the devastation hurricane Katrina caused in New Orleans and beyond.  This list goes on and on.

So, while some people see popular fiction as brain candy, there are bits of fact peppered throughout and you can learn without realizing that is what you are doing!  I love that.  I read only a little bit of non-fiction, and it pleases me to no end that my fiction authors keep me “smart”.

One of my favorite blogs, Today in Shenaya, is by an author who writes about her novel’s fictional setting and explains the background and real beliefs she bases her world and characters on.  Interesting stuff!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to F is for Fact from Fiction

  1. Ariel Swan says:

    Ha! Again – I so agree with this. One of my favorite things to tell people when I am talking about some historical or incidental fact – is that I get all my “facts” from fiction. It is so true.

  2. Sisyphus47 says:

    Can’t agree more: I learnt America in Stephen King, WWII in Pynchon, England in Tolkien, France in Proust… and blogging in… WordPress! 🙂

  3. Yes! Even learning the flip side of myths and legends like in The Mists of Avalon or how to make amazing food in Like Water for Chocolate or which snakes are the most venomous in the world – Poisonwood Bible. Good stuff.

  4. That is exactly why a lot of fiction is so enjoyable. It takes an often “dry” subject and makes an interesting story, plot, or scene around it. Good stuff!

  5. Lauren S. says:

    That’s why I always liked reading historical fiction when I was younger. History tests were a lot easier for me! 🙂

  6. Hello, Elisa! I love reading fiction especially when I can learn something about a different time period or culture. I recently read Stephen King’s 11/22/63. It was fascinating reading about late 1950s-early ’60s life and the details surrounding the Kennedy assassination. I have so many favorite books that are fiction through and through, but they’re set in a time and place that show different cultures and thinking and attitudes. Through reading fiction, I can learn something new every day!

    Have a great weekend and happy A to Z!!

Don't be shy!

