G is for Garden

We recently, in the last couple of years have planted CA natives in our yard, to conserve water and to benefit the local birds and animals.  With natives, the first year they creep the second year they leap (they work on their root systems in the first year).  So now we have some pretty good sized plants.  Just wanted to share some of our pretty blooms.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to G is for Garden

  1. Ariel Swan says:

    I didn’t realize we had the same G-day topic. The connections keep growing. Lovely flowers. My flowers are just thrown together. We work hardest on our vegetables but each year we throw in a few new perennials in the beds designated for flowers. Nothing looks manicured and at times they are gorgeous other times not so much. We need to do more flower planning. But purple season is soon upon us. I will write about that on my blog for P.

  2. hatchje says:

    It is good to know what native flowers you plant as I am trying to start my own CA garden. Thanks!

    • ocdreader says:

      We do a lot of sages, bushmallow, ceanothus, manzanitas… there are some really cool and scented plants available. Good luck! It is fun, you should check out my husbands blog, http://www.ojairamber.wordpress.com, he gets into more of the natives that work around here with some great links to sites that could help. 🙂

  3. Julie says:

    Your garden looks beautiful! I wish that I had more of a green thumb.

  4. Your garden is so pretty! I’m hoping to plant some herbs in pots this year, I’d love to have some fresh stuff in the house every once in a while.

    • ocdreader says:

      Thank you! I love having an herb garden! It is soooo handy. All summer I get a basil plant that lives in my kitchen and the rest are outside growing like mad things.

Don't be shy!

