L is for Library

I love my library.  The Friends of the Library have a used bookstore called Twice Sold Tales where everything is only a couple of bucks.  So if I can’t find something interesting there, I rent it from the library, though that doesn’t happen to often.  Proceeds from the Friends help support the library and traditionally meet any expansion needs.

Our library is heavily used, it has a nice lawn in front and the kids get a lot of help there after school.  Because of the budget cuts and California’s inability to spend within its means, they are cutting funding to the libraries and the Friends’ funds are more needed than ever.  They are starting to use the funds to help buy books.

So, to help the Friends, I have started sorting the donated books twice a week.  I go to the donation bin and figure out what books need to be recycled, brought into the store or packed away for the Memorial Day booksale.  It has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that I can get to paw through the books first and everything to do with my altruistic do-gooder nature.  Did I tell you I found a new Nick Bantock book, the infotainment book about the Period Table and the new House of Night last week?  Someone already bought them…yea, they went really fast…well, I have to get ready to go sort books.  Hope you all have a great weekend!!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to L is for Library

  1. I’m sure the library saved my life when I was young. I escaped into books, bringing as many home as I could carry. 🙂
    Kate
    Follow & Visit http://whenkateblogs.blogspot.com/

  2. nelcishere says:

    I love the library, however I have not been in awhile. We have a great library system. We can get online and have stuff sent from the main library in Springfield to our branch library in Willard. It is great, we do that with movies and cd’s also. I have been so busy with review books I have not had time to read from the library. Visiting from A to Z.
    until next time… nel
    http://nelfast.blogspot.com

  3. tara tyler says:

    i need to visit the library more. used to take the kids all the time to the great programs. now they’re all into sports and we run around all the time!

  4. Damyanti says:

    Look forward to the rest of your challenge run…can’t believe we’ve had 14 days already!
    –Damyanti, Co-host A to Z Challenge April 2012

    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

  5. Ariel Swan says:

    I have been a library lover since I was a wee child. I think it is one of the best gifts my mother ever gave me. Today it is not uncommon at all for me or she to call and say…oh I picked up this book at the library and it is about this…and for the other one to say, Hey, I just picked that book too off the new books shelf. Crazy.

Don't be shy!

