M is for Michelle and Moore

Today is my friend Michelle’s birthday.  She came up to visit me yesterday and I totally blew off my M post for Saturday.  So here it is, Sunday, and Happy Birthday Michelle!

With that done, I just wanted to talk about Christopher Moore.  He is one of my favorite authors, because he seems like a demented guy with a wicked sense of humor and writes some ridiculously fun and silly stuff.  He just released a book called Sacre Bleu, about Van Gogh and a certain shade of blue.  It is on the top of my TBR pile and I am  very excited to read it.  But my favorite so far has been A Dirty Job.  It was my pick for a past bookclub and each member enjoyed it a lot, laughed a ton, and we were able to have a lively discussion.  The book is about death, how our souls mature and San Francisco.  Oh yea, there are harpies and demons living in the sewers and minor brushes with the vampires from his other book, Blood Sucking Fiends.  It is hilarious too, really.  I read it the first time while riding the public transportation system, BART.  In this train you sit facing other people.  I started laughing so hard I had to put the book down and face the window to try to hide the tears of mirth streaming down my face.  It didn’t work and I had to share my the book with my fellow passengers, once I could get myself under control of course.  I consider it dangerous to read in public for that reason.  If you haven’t already, you should try one of Moore’s books.

What author do you turn to when you need to laugh and enjoy the ridiculous side of life?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy!

