Q is found in Loquat

LOL, I am pushing it a bit for the Q on this one…but it is perfect timing because the fruits on our tree are starting to ripen.  This is one of those fruits that does NOT travel well…so if you don’t live in a climate that supports them, you would never know they exist.

Sometimes called a Japanese plum, the loquat is around the size of an apricot with the same coloring.  The flesh is tartly sweet, juicy and filled with fairly large inedible seeds.  The fruit also makes amazing jam.  Because of my loquat and plum trees, I now make way too much jam each year.  My favorite?  Loquat cinnamon – one of my friends says it tastes like apple pie.  Second favorite, Loquat Jalapeno (so good with meats!).  I have also made apricot jalapeno, but the loquat is better.

We get visitors who gorge on the fruits with no adverse effects (one of my friend’s kids practically ate her weight in them but had no gut issues).  They fully ripen through June and start wilting through July.  So, I try to do most of my jamming before the sweltering summer, if only the plum tree would cooperate!

Are you a loquat fan?  If you haven’t tried them, what is your favorite fruit?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Q is found in Loquat

  1. Oh man! I’ve never had a loquat. 😦 And I love apricots but I’d have to say Raspberries and perfect crisp Pink Lady or Fuji apples are my fave. Oh and watermelon in July.

    I make blackberry jam most summers. It makes me feel so industrious. Your jams sound amazing.

  2. That sounds delicious! I’ve never tried it before but I’d love to. Nice post.

    From Diary of a Writer in the Progress

  3. Archna says:

    Wow, I’ve never tried one.

    My jam/jelly story is that I worked at a Farmer’s Market a few years back and the ‘Apricot Guy’, as we called him, loved my children and always gave us really good stuff. So it’s not much of a story, until you consider that he was making plum and pluot and peach and mango jams!

    Clever way to do the ‘Q’. 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      Yum! I want to try a mango jams this year…I also have a recipe for banana pineapple that I want to try.

Don't be shy!

