R is for Jennifer Rardin

Jennifer Rardin wrote eight Jaz Parks books before she passed away in 2010.  I am sloooooowwwwllly making my way through them.  Savoring them really.  They are irreverent and silly, action packed and the story takes surprising twists.  Jaz is sardonic and hilarious.  I read somewhere, and I can’t find the quote now so I feel like I am making things up, that she was talking to her husband about wanting to write about vampires but felt the market was flooded.  So he said something like, “sure, there are a whole bunch of vampire books out there, but none written by you!  Do it.”  I find that very inspirational.  I am so glad she listened to him, because these books are gold.

A few quotes from the books, generally Jaz’s thoughts or speech, to whet your appetite.

“Sometimes things would be so much simpler if you could just pull out your gun and shoot the bad guy. Reason number seventeen why Indiana Jones is my hero.”
Jennifer Rardin, Once Bitten, Twice Shy

So… you’re an assassin?” Dave asked incredulously.
“Why do I feel like you’d have used the same tone if I’d just confessed to being a stripper?” I demanded.
“Sorry,” he said quickly. “I’m just surprised, is all.”
Jennifer Rardin, Biting the Bullet

“Fear sucks. Because you never know when it will attack. Sometimes it sneaks up behind you, giggling like your best girlfriend from seventh grade. Then it whacks you on the back of the head, takes you straight to your knees before you realize what hit you. Other times you can see it coming, just a dot on the horizon, but you’re like a canary in a cage. All you can do is hang in there and hope you don’t get motion sickness and puke all over the newspapers.”
Jennifer Rardin, Once Bitten, Twice Shy

“I’m just being practial. I knew someday I might have to bare my throat to you. Pete and I discussed that very possibility. As for the danger and risk taking, that’s what Pete pays me to do. And you and I both know he intends to get his money’s worth.”
Jasmine, I cannot-”
Why not!”
Because you are not food!”
I stared at him for a minute; the I started to grin. I couldn’t help it.
Vayl”-I tried to keep my face straight- “I’m not asking you to eat me.”
Jennifer Rardin

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2012, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to R is for Jennifer Rardin

  1. I’ve never actually read any of Jennifer Rardin’s books, but perhaps I should. Sassy heroines can be fun 🙂

    ~ Rhonda Parrish

Don't be shy!

