U is for Underwear

Some of my favorite movies are Christopher Guest’s mockumentaries and of those, I love love love Best in Show.  So whenever I hear the word underwear I hear one of Cookie Fleck’s (Catherin O’Hara) old boyfriends singing “I’m not wearing under…wear.”  Followed by “That is still the only time I ever did it on a rollercoaster.”  That group of actors created some amazingly goofy but sweet characters.  And at least Cookie’s sexploits will live on in infamy in my household, especially whenever we hear the word underwear.  It is funny, both my husband and I, when thinking of a possible U post went straight to that line…so, I didn’t fight it.

If you haven’t seen these movies, Best in Show, Waiting for Guffman, This is Spinal Tap or A Mighty Wind, For Your Consideration (I haven’t seen as often, but still amazing, Catherine O’Hara at the end! how did they get her face to do that?!) I recommend them.  You don’t learn anything or really go on any journey of self-discovery, but the characters are gold and the situations they find themselves in are hilarious.  And watching poor Gerry Fleck (Eugene Levy) have to deal with his wife’s old boyfriends, the quantity and the pushiness of them, is too much fun to miss.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2012, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to U is for Underwear

  1. Francene says:

    I haven’t seen the show here in England. But I know about underwear. Learning as a teenager to get used to the constraints of a bras was torment. Now, the torment of the constraint as my body changes. Underwear–can’t do without it, but I wish it fitted better. Blog on!

    http://francene-wordstitcher.blogspot.com

  2. baygirl32 says:

    the only one I haven’t seen is A Mighty Wind (re-watched Best in Show this weekend past)

  3. Best in Show is one of my favorites – and it was fun to release Jane Lynch was in it when I rewatched it recently because Coach Sue is my favorite Glee character.

Don't be shy!

