Review – Socialpunk

Socialpunk

By Monica Leonelle

Publish Date:  March 27, 2012 (kindle edition)

Received the book for review as part of the Socialpunk book tour.

Ima would give anything to escape The Dome and learn what’s beyond its barriers, but the Chicago government has kept all its citizens on lockdown ever since the Scorched Years left most of the world a desert wasteland. When a mysterious group of hooded figures enters the city unexpectedly, Ima uncovers a plot to destroy The Dome and is given the choice between escaping to a new, dangerous city or staying behind and fighting a battle she can never win. (description from Monica Leonelle’s website)

Socialpunk is the first book in a trilogy and let me tell you, it is one action-packed storyline so expect a cliffhanger that really leaves you hanging in the middle of the action!  This book is the set-up, the world building and the character explanation, but don’t expect something with a slow build like a fantasy novel.  This book hits the ground running and you need bionic implants to keep up.  My mind is still whirling with Leonelle’s futuristic ideas and the dystopian culture, government and intrigue she has created.

There were a few times that I was a bit confused regarding character development.  Ima changes quite a bit in a short amount of time and while she needs to change to survive, it was a little jarring because it is such a quick transformation from how she acted before.  But it works and is explained.  I don’t really understand yet what motivates some of the characters, but it seems as though Leonelle is feeding us that information at specific times, so I am content to wait for those reveals in the next book or two.

I recommend it if you like reading dystopian YA like Collin’s Hunger Games or Westerfield’s Uglies.  It also has a lot of science fiction elements, but doesn’t bog you down with description.  I love her premise, which I won’t go into and ruin for you.  The twists and turns at times are surprising, gut-wrenching and horrifying.

All told, I really enjoyed the Socialpunk and am really looking forward to Socialmob.  I am invested in the situation facing Ima and her friends and the characters themselves are growing on me quickly.  I give Socialpunk 4 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Giveaway, Review, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Review – Socialpunk

  1. beckyday6 says:

    This sounds cool!

Don't be shy!