Birthday Cake!

I didn’t get to read much this weekend because it was my good friend’s birthday party and she asked me to be in charge of the cake with her 13 year old daughter.  We settled on a beach/ocean theme.  She made the cupcakes and I brought the cake.  I wanted to make this impressive towering thing but it didn’t really work out that way as it started listing to the side as I added layers!  Stevie made cupcakes with umbrellas, a piece of a sour rope thing to look like a towel, brown sugar for sand and swedish fish gummies in the blue icing water.  They looked really cute.

I went a little nuts, because that is what I do.  I decided to try making marshmallow fondant for the first time ever.  I made two batches around 3 days ahead, and I think it needed a bit more powdered sugar…it was slowly oozing all day, like old glass sped up.  I made a quadruple batch of butter cream icing and 3 boxes of devil’s food cake mix, doctored with a recipe from The Cake Doctor cookbook, plus I added pudding.  Needless to say my cakes were moist and tasty, but heavy!  I should have made thinner layers.  Anyway.  I found a gorgeous picture of someone else’s handmade cake online and I fashioned mine after theirs.  This is what I ended up with. Oh, I made the inside of the octopus and crab out of rice krispy treats…I love trying new things!

Giant octopus near the cupcake shore

Crab cake – without tartar sauce!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Birthday Cake!

  1. It looks stunning. Too good to eat!

    • ocdreader says:

      Why thank you. Luckily I didn’t have to cut into it! I don’t think I could have actually. 🙂

  2. Wow, those cakes look amazing! . So professional! I’ve never attempted working w/fondant, maybe I’ll try, someday.

  3. Maryellen Brady says:

    WOW those cakes are magical 🙂 What talent!

Don't be shy!

