Review – Taste

Taste

by Kate Evangelista

I won this book from Today in Shenaya (yay!)

When I first picked it up, I just wanted to yell at the main character, Phoenix  “Curiosity Killed the cat!”  “Run girl, run!”  “Get out of there.  Boarding schools harbor monsters.  Haven’t you read any YA literature?”

Holy crud, that girl almost gave me a heart attack!

Near the beginning, a girl is trying to kick her ass, actually is now ready to kill her and being held back by Dray, not the toughest guy, more scientist than brute – And Phoenix is trying out her reasoning skills?  “Why do you want to kill me?”  Oh dear, it was so tense…

Let me back up, this book starts out right in the middle of things.  Phoenix has fallen asleep in the library and misses curfew to get out of school.  She is at a boarding school in the Russian hills, Barinkoff Academy.  Anyone that misses curfew will be expelled, no questions.  Somehow she finds a rescuer in one of the Night Students (they are all gorgeous by the way) who tells her she almost died and don’t come back.  The very next night she decides to stay at school and blow through curfew so she can talk to one of the guys she met, she has questions.  Huh, this is where I was yelling that stuff above.  It is funny, she has more fear on her meeting with the headmaster thinking she will be expelled, than when she confronts people who want to eat her flesh, crazy girl.

Wow, the pieces that fall together.  The story that continues…the tastes of temptation these boys drop.  Phoenix has an annoying habit of doing exactly the opposite of what is asked or demanded of her.  It gets her in trouble at every turn, but it moves the story forward.  And since it is a first person narrative, it makes it much more exciting for us readers!  In fact, this girl wears her heart on her sleeve and everything she thinks pops out of her mouth, consequences be damned!  But boy, it makes for a tense story.

There is a little bit of a love triangle for a time.  There is intrigue in this world and something is wrong that they need Phoenix’s help to fix, so she is pulled into their world which is quite different from ours.  They have a king and distinct and strict class system, are super strong and amazingly beautiful.

This book sucked me in from the first couple of pages and didn’t unhinge its jaws until the end.  It was a lot of fun to read and nerve-wracking at times.  That Phoenix couldn’t seem to do what was good for her got frustrating, but it worked.  The romance was super steamy, yet they don’t do more than kiss.  I loved it and give this book 4.5 stars.   

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Review – Taste

  1. So glad you liked it! And yes, Phoenix is positively suicidal at times.

  2. cleemckenzie says:

    Well, here’s to stories that pull you into them.

  3. Great review! it got me to read it! thanks!

  4. I still need to read this, it sounds good. Thanks for the review!

  5. beckyday6 says:

    Hmmm…..the lead character sounds like she would drive me mental! Haha 🙂 Very nice front cover though, I’m a sucker for anything with a pretty ballgown-esk black dress. Just ask my bookshelf.
    Nice review also!

Don't be shy!

