Frivolous Friday – July 27th

My parents moved to the burbs of Phoenix, AZ a couple years ago and they keep telling me about the crazy weather they get.  This last weekend my dad was with his friends on Lake Pleasant and got a call from my step-mom, a haboob was on its way and they had to get off the lake!  They shared the information with other boaters who laughed at them.  No one believed the weather could turn on a dime like that.  My dad barely got the boat out of the water before the sand storm hit, and then monsoon-like rain followed.  I guess three boats sank.  The picture is the sand wall about to engulf them, not quite the proportions seen in The Mummy, but crazy enough!

PS – I have never before used the word haboob in a sentence.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Frivolous Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frivolous Friday – July 27th

  1. First time for everything. I love your Friday posts. Such a nice way to get to know you.

  2. beckyday6 says:

    Whoooaaa! That’s crazy! I am also loving the friday posts. Great job. 🙂

Don't be shy!

