Review – Bear Meets Girl

Bear Meets Girl (Pride #7)

by Shelly Laurenston

Purchased

I haven’t read the other Pride books, but am thinking about trying to gather them because this was a lot of fun.  It is silly, the characters play as much as fight, and half of the fighting is play too.  The cats are always trying to get a drop on each other.  So even though it is a little goofy at first, I really enjoyed the levity right away and got into the storyline.

Crush is a polar bear shifter and is on the NYPD.  He meets a tiger shifter “feline”, Cella, and is overcome by her flirtatious, direct, annoying ways.  He does her a favor and pretends to be her boyfriend to fend off her annoying matchmaking aunts (large, intrusive family alert!) and they end up falling for each other.  Awww.  PLUS, there is hockey involved, a full shifter team, yay!  Go Carnivores!!  Cella is a bare-knuckle fighter and Crush is a huge fan of her teammates and he is an adorable fan-boy for quite a while.  Sweet and hilarious.

The danger part – there is someone killing shifters.  Kidnapping and drugging them so they can’t change shape and playing a different version of “the most dangerous game”.  Crush and Cella have to work together to help bring them down.

This book is sweet and funny and goofy and everyone is a huge pain in the ass.  Plus there are a few smexy bits.  I haven’t read many books like this, to be honest, so I don’t know if they abound or not…but I enjoyed it and will be looking for the other ones to finally read them in order.  I assume some of the other pairings you see in the book happen in earlier books in the series.  If you are tired of angst-filled heroes and want a lot of levity with your danger, check these out!  4 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Bear Meets Girl

  1. That name just grabs you, right? I think this sounds very interesting. Thanks for the recommendation.

  2. diannegray says:

    Now that’s different! Bear shifters 🙂 Just when I thought there was nothing new on the horizon.

    Thanks for posting this review, it’s always good to read about something slightly outside the box and the fact that you gave it 4 stars is pretty impressive.

    Who is the publisher?

    • ocdreader says:

      The publisher is Brava. For what it is, and I have only read some of the silly brain candy stuff, but I just though this one was well done, even though it is still pretty fluffy. I guess I should really put that in my review!

Don't be shy!

