Frivolous Fridays and Giveaway (this one is about books)

I have a problem.  If my book piles fall over I am going to be pinned and die underneath them.  I have actually been fairly good the last couple of weeks, I haven’t stopped at the used bookstore and the library sorting hasn’t turned up anything interesting.  Yay!  I haven’t brought a new book into the house in 2 whole weeks!  Woot!  (I keep thinking about going on a book buying ban, but it is too scary and makes me sad to think about.)

So, I have been trying to let things go.  The stuff I haven’t read, obviously can’t go yet, but I need to be pickier about what I keep.  Soooo, I just realized I have TWO graphic novels The Tragical Comedy or Comical Tragedy of Mr. Punch by Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean (I was looking through my comic corner to try to put my Sandmans in order).  I have decided to give one away.  It is a soft cover, has been read and might be a tiny bit dusty.  But, it is an oversized and gorgeous book.  Just comment below and let me know what your favorite Neil Gaiman book or comic is, be sure to include your email address.  If you have never read any Gaiman, let me know the name of one of your favorite authors.  I will pull a name on Monday, August 20th.

A dark and frightening fully painted novella, MR. PUNCH tells the tale of a young boy’s loss of innocence results from a horrific confrontation with his past. Spending a summer at his grandfather’s seaside arcade, a troubled adolescent harmlessly becomes involved with a mysterious Punch and Judy Man and a mermaid-portraying woman. But when the violent puppet show triggers buried memories of the boy’s family, the lives of all become feverishly intertwined. With disturbing mysteries and half-truths uncontrollably unraveling, the young boy is forced to deal with his family’s dark secrets of violence, betrayal, and guilt. (description from goodreads.com)

You don’t have to be a subscriber, but it is nice.  Cheers!

I will be mailing via US Post Office, limited to wherever the US government mails things.  I cannot be held responsible if the book gets lost in the mail.  I will feel really bad about it though!  If you win and don’t respond within 48 hours, I will pick another winner.

Don’t forget that I have another giveaway running through the end of August.  Enter to win Pledged, the 1st in a YA trilogy and an all around awesome book.  Enter here.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Frivolous Fridays, Giveaway. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Frivolous Fridays and Giveaway (this one is about books)

  1. Sharmin says:

    I have never read anything by this author. One of my favorite authors is Suzanne Collins. Thanks for the giveaway!
    My email: abattalionofwords@gmail.com

  2. Erin C. says:

    Hmmm, I think my favorite is Neverwhere, although Good Omens was also fun. I have never read his graphic novels so I would be excited to win!

  3. beckyday6 says:

    Haha well at least I am not the only one struggling with the book buying habit! 🙂 I am totally with you, if my book pile fell over I would be pinned and probably die underneath too, and it would take them ages to get me out because they would have to shift so many! Lol. Do you have them all on a bookshelf of have they spread to other parts of the house?

    You’re being very brave, giving some away, I am hopeless at letting go of my books, even if they are really bad ones that I didn’t enjoy very much, so well done you!

    • ocdreader says:

      They are mainly on bookshelves, though there is some in the closet, and a few in bags in the garage (eep!). Also, there are some near the bookshelves in piles on the ground. It is really super bad. I MUST go through and be brutally honest with myself – will I read this?! If it will be years before I even think about it, I should probably let it go to the library or something. I just have such a hard time! But we are having family in from out of town in less than two weeks and I think I am going to have to go through them in some manner before then. *sob* This one book won’t really do much, but I like it a lot (Dave McKean is a master artist with multi-media especially, he is just so amazing) and thought someone else might too. 🙂

Don't be shy!

