Review – Some Girls Bite

Some Girls Bite (Chicagoland Vampires #1)

by Chloe Neill

purchased

How have I missed this series?  I only recently heard about it because of all the fantastic reviewers on goodreads.com.  I feel like I live in a backwoods outpost with only a few survival books helicoptered in once in a while!  Anyway, what a great start to a new (to me) series!

Merit was almost killed by a rogue vampire, but turned in time by a master vampire who was in the right place at the right time.  She didn’t choose this life, but once she accepts it, she moves forward to do what is right for her and her house.

Our reluctant vampire heroine only whines about her predicament for a little bit until she realizes that she needs to make the most out of what life has handed her.  “I’m not happy to be a vampire.  It’s not the life that I’d have picked.  But it’s mine now, and I’ll honor that.”  (pg 275)

The side characters are hilarious, annoying, enjoyable and completely interesting.  Merit is stronger than most newbie vamps and kicks ass.  I am hoping she doesn’t get all the good abilities and become uber-vamp, but will instead need the help from her quirky and talented sidekicks and crew.  She is completely attracted to her maker, but mad at him.  He likes her too, but pulls a Mr. Darcy and explains why he shouldn’t like her while asking her out.  Makes for entertaining stuff.

The hmmm – the bad guy monologues at the end, for a reason, but still.  Also, the end wraps up really quickly!  I had maybe 10 pages left and still didn’t know “who did it.”

But those hmmms are fairly minor.  I really enjoyed this first novel and am excited to dig into Friday Night Bites to see what Merit gets into next!  A new series I am super excited about – yay!!  4 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Review – Some Girls Bite

  1. Cathy I says:

    I almost wrote here about this book yesterday. I started it, immediately loved it. Took heat from my husband about the title and how I had certainly descended into the abyss in my reading habits. Had to get up at 3:30 am and finish the book. Immediately went to the computer to look for the sequels. Strong heroine, doesn’t need the rescuing like the seemingly strong heroines in many other books, and she’s not the teenager who draws the fascination and lust of ancient and worldly vampires (oh please!) Fabulous……can’t wait for number 2.

    • ocdreader says:

      LOL! That is awesome. I have #2 and #4, so we need to find #3! I will work on the second one soon so you can gobble it down.

  2. diannegray says:

    Hey, Elisa, I’ve never heard of this series but might have to take a look. Thanks for this – sounds pretty interesting 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      If you like vampire and paranormal books with a bit of romancy stuff, I would say heck yes, take a look!! You must be hanging out in that back woods outpost where I am. 🙂 lol

  3. I love this series. This book totally won me over when I first read it. Happy you liked it.

  4. beckyday6 says:

    Hmmm I’ve never heard of it either, so don’t feel too bad! 😛 Haha. Glad to hear you enjoyed it.

    I have to admit – it’s a probably a bit weird but books that have covers with actual people on tend to put me off. I think a lot of the time it makes them look quite tacky, and I think it’s also because I like to make up in my head what the characters look like, and I don’t like the stimuli on the front cover influencing me! The worse thing is, because they put me off I often miss out on great books or put off reading them for a very long time and then regret it!

    Great review. 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      Thanks Becky! I always forget there is a person on the cover, then when I look, they never look right anyway! Tattoos bigger or in the wrong spot, weird looks on their faces, prom dresses when they never go, I end up getting most of my books these days cause I have read a good review. If I allow myself to go to the store and pick a book based on cover, I get some wacky thing no one recommends, then I have a hard time getting to it. LOL

      • beckyday6 says:

        Haha that’s so true! That’s another thing that irritates me, covers that have nothing to so with the book, like girls in big dresses that they never wear like you said.

        True, it’s always better to go by recommendation than by cover, but I just get sucked in by them and their pretty artwork dammit! So superficial. 😛

Don't be shy!

