Review – Plague Town

Plague Town

by Dana Fredsti

Published April 2012

I am currently walking around work, checking corners, looking behind doors and fully imaging whether I would be able to elude zombies in the workplace.  I have been infected by this story!   Ashley Parker and her boyfriend are attacked during a romantic evening picnic in the woods near their college.  Ashley survives, as she is curiously immune to the infection.  She is a wild card.

She is recruited by the military to help contain the infection to their town along with a few other wild cards.  This isn’t the first time the dead have walked and the powers that be have always kept a lid on zombies to not incite a panic.  (Government conspiracy alert!  You had to know that the CDCs guide wasn’t just clever marketing, right?!  Am I the only one who is slightly worried about that?!)

Anyway, the wild cards train, fight, kick some zombie butt and slide around in all sorts of fluids.  Ewww!!   Wild cards are immune to whatever makes a zombie a zombie, but they get super senses, quicker healing and extra strength from the bite.

This book, while gross and disgusting, is also funny and a little sexy in a disturbed way.  Ashley is in her late 20s even though back in college.  She is a smart alec and deals with the horror of their new situation by finding humor and cracking a few jokes.  Her fellow wild cards aren’t all the same, but they are mainly young and hip.  There are a lot of movie quotes and references from the Alien movies and Independence Day among others (see a trend?).   The book knows it isn’t breaking new ground, but it has fun telling its story.  Ashley is a typical heroine these days, she has all the right attributes, good looking, funny, smart, strong, loyal and brave.  She cares about her teammates and usually has something clever or funny to say.

But seriously folks, there are fluids and viscera everywhere!  Luckily these dead don’t sprint, I don’t think they would survive if they did.  Smell is mentioned a lot too, blegh.  I don’t recommend you read this during your lunch breaks, at least not while eating.  There are two more books planned.  So, I am not sure they fully contain the infection…I am going to look them up when they are released.  I liked Ashley, her cohorts, the military dudes and her interesting love interest.  I think that part was a bit out of control, but whatever.  I can’t talk about it because it would spoil things, but, huh.  This is my first zombie book besides some zombie side characters in a few urban fantasy series I read.  This is definitely the most visual and gross and filled with zombie moans and fluids.  Yucky, but so readable, I couldn’t put it down!  I can definitely handle this better in print than on the silver screen.  4 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Dark Fantasy, Horror, Paranormal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Review – Plague Town

  1. diannegray says:

    I liked the fact it was gross, but you couldn’t put it down! Smells add a lot to a story, but I must admit I’ve never read a zombie story (although hubby is always getting them out on DVD).
    I remember when I read Angela’s Ashes, I was felt hungry through the entire book (because he constantly talked about how hungry he was as a child!) You wouldn’t want to read this book if you were on a diet.
    Another great review – hmmm 4 stars – I may have to look this one up 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      Or like when you want to drink a white russian while watching Big Lebowski or a cosmo for Sex In the City! Trend? 🙂

      • diannegray says:

        I loved Big Lebowski! Now they’re saying no smoking for actors in movies. Strangely enough, when I’m watching a movie and someone lights a cigarette I really feel like one! I must be so driven by advertising it’s embarrassing!!!

  2. Erin C. says:

    you give a lot of four star reviews and I’m wondering if that’s because you simply do not finish the books that deserve less. This review both makes me want to read it and not want to read it. Which way do I go?! ha ha. Guess that will depend on my mood.

    • ocdreader says:

      I know! I worry about that too, but I have been picking up books that I have read good things about, or I was in the mood for. I feel poised on the edge of a reading slump and if I read something meh – I know I will fall in! If I start it and don’t like it, it sits somewhere else until I get to it. Sad but true.

  3. beckyday6 says:

    Hahaa this one sounds like good fun! Imagining you at work hiding from zombies made me giggle! 😛

Don't be shy!

