Frivolous Fridays (August 31st)

Happy Friday everyone!  Today I just want to share some of my “decorating with chocolate” cakes.  It is my sister’s birthday next week and I am having around 30 folks (including kids) over for a pool party this weekend and I need to create a couple of different cakes or cupcakes or something fun!  I don’t think I will do anything quite this involved but looking at these pictures will hopefully inspire me.

So, I get kinda crafty every once in a while.  This was the first time I worked with melted chocolate to decorate a cake.  It was made to donate to a local older folks home for their summer BBQ and cake raffle.  It ended up with a HUGE sunflower on the top, thick but quite pretty.  I made two in case I messed up (my neighbors were happy to help with the leftovers).  What I learned is that decorating a cake with chocolate decorations can work really well and it is actually quite forgiving.  I found out that things I thought were errors really made it look pretty.

This cake was for my sister’s baby shower around 2 years ago now (wow, has it been that long?!).  Her friend Caty and I put this one together.  For this cake we drew some cartoon animals, put waxed paper over the drawings and used melted chocolate in squeeze bottles to outline and then fill them in.  Individually they weren’t that lovely, but together, they looked great!

For my mom’s wedding we did butterflies, also in chocolate but with more outlining.  We also did one for my sister, but with white and purple wings, but I can’t seem to find a picture!!

Then, because my friend Caty is crazy artistic and she drew all of the figures, we did a Dr. Seuss cake for her son’s kindergarden class.  I think we made sure to make a chocolate figurine for each kid in the class.

Well, that is it for now.  I hope you all have a sweet and wonderful weekend!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Frivolous Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Frivolous Fridays (August 31st)

  1. I love the animal arc one. it looks like such fun.

  2. Erin C. says:

    Haha, most all of them have been for me! You’re the best sister ever! Wonder what we’ll come up with this time? Let’s get Caty involved! Heehee

    • ocdreader says:

      What can I say? You force, I mean bring out my creative side. 🙂
      I always wonder what we will think up when we get together…

  3. OMG, you did these? That’s amazing. I love the zoo animals

  4. Jill Marie says:

    WOW!
    These cakes are awesome! Stellar job :]
    Using chocolate turns out really great and of course yummy ^^
    SO glad the cake was a hit!

    • ocdreader says:

      Thank you 🙂 So many toppings look pretty but don’t taste that great, it is always fun to get a bit of these pieces. Mmm…
      Though, I also have to tell you that my sister, this morning, said the belle of the ball at her birthday party was your chocolate toffee caramel cake, she took the leftovers with her! Thanks again 🙂

  5. beckyday6 says:

    Wowzas these are amazing!!! I love the butterfly one the best. You’ve kept this skill very quiet. 😉 You should make a bookish one, that would be super awesome! 😀

    • ocdreader says:

      That is an awesome idea! I am going to have to do something like that and give you the kudos for the idea. Thanks Becky

  6. Cathy I says:

    OMG, that’s a great idea about the books, it would be a great addition to a book club meal. How fun!

  7. Sara says:

    You are so good at this! Time to start your own business!

Don't be shy!

