Review – Gone Girl

Gone Girl

by Gillian Flynn

Huh, the first half of the book is ok.  It chronicals Nick and Amy and their marriage.  Nick has found out Amy is missing/has been taken by force in present day, and it alternates with passages from Amy’s journal during the years of their marriage.  It sort of becomes a “he said, she said” because their telling of events is so different.  Nick’s character ends up weird, you don’t know if he is telling the truth, he drops that he is lying to the police but not really what those lies are.  He really is an unreliable narrator and you just keep reading to find out what happened because both characters don’t seem that great.  In fact, I didn’t like anyone in this book but I was reading it for bookclub and had only a couple of days to finish (my mom had to loan me her iPad so I could “borrow” the book, I am getting more and more annoyed with electronic books!!  Dang publishers don’t let you loan certain books and still charge about the same as paper).   Anyway, I kept with it and was rewarded with twists and turns galore.  I still didn’t care much for the characters, but the story Flynn takes us on was worth the price of admission.

Anyway, it becomes, well, not thrilling exactly, but interesting.  Crazy, sick in the head and a lot crazy, some depravity too.

I recently read a short novella by Michael Cargill called Underneath.  You never know what is lurking in someones head, who they really are, what they are about, when they will snap.  That idea reminds me of this book. It really is an amazing psychological foray into the public, the police, grieving parents, the accused and how people take their marriage vows.  Everyone has some sort of issue from when they were young and how it has translated into who they are today.  It is fascinating.

Emotionally, I wanted to throw this book out the window a few times.  I couldn’t cause it was on a reader – so not satisfying for my dramatic fits of pique!    The ending was – are you kidding me?!  But not in a “I hate the ending way” (for me) but more in a “I don’t know anyone like this and hope I never find out they are real” way.  There are some sickos out there and in this book!

So, I hope you are interested.  You have to get through some pages to really get sucked into this story.  The twisty curly storyline pulls and tugs and snips and snaps until you don’t know which side is up.  Then, find someone else who read this to freak out with and discuss because it is important to decompress (I was about to write decompose – too many zombie novels lately!).  4 stars.  Crazy, crazy stuff man.  I need to read something fluffy & cozy now.

Early comments from bookclubers have everyone liking the book but almost hating the ending.  It should make for a VERY lively discussion which I am very much looking forward to it.  Somehow I am going to have to play devil’s advocate and see what I can stir up.  🙂 Meeting is Wednesday, if anything good/crazy/funny happens, I will let you know.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Mystery, Thriller. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Review – Gone Girl

  1. diannegray says:

    You gave it 4 stars! There must be something completely mind-blowing about this book because you didn’t seem to like the characters very much. Sounds like it touched a raw nerve 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      I KNOW – I thought if she could do that and cause so much thought afterwards, and made it so dang readable, it deserved 4 stars. I think I like it more the more I talk about it too. 🙂

  2. beckyday6 says:

    Wow, great review! 🙂 You’ve certainly got me intrigued, I like a lot of psychological stuff about people’s personalities and how they come to be who they are, so I may like this one…
    I love the front cover as well! Very minimalist and stylish.

    • ocdreader says:

      Then you will get sucked into this one! Try it if you feel like a crazy thriller, it will be good for work water cooler conversations as well cause many people seem to be reading it. 🙂

  3. Cathy I says:

    I too, hated just about everything in this book. For the first half I hated the narrator, and the second half I hated both he and his wife. I was also ready to throw it out the window, but kept reading for book club. The interesting thing about it though, is the discussion I have had with everyone who has read the book. It is an amazing author who can keep us thinking about and agonizing over a story for so very long. I also give it four stars.
    I agree about this electronic stuff, it’s ridiculous not to be able to lend a book, especially when $12.00 is involved. If I were able to wait another month, I could probably pick it up for $2.00 at my favorite Goodwill store. So. I will lend my ipad twice….so much for not lending a book!!

  4. Layla says:

    I’ve read her two previous books so I know she doesn’t do nice, likeable characters… They all tend to be pretty messed up, and, as a result, the stories are usually pretty messed up as well. But she does take you on a hell of a ride 🙂

    I haven’t read Gone Girl yet though 🙂

  5. Interesting review and comments! I’m curious about this book. It’s one of those that everyone seems to be reading or talking about. I’ll read it because I like dark, psychologically intense novels. And because I’m wondering if I’ll hate it or love it LOL.

  6. LOL, an interesting review. It’s like you didn’t like it and loved it as the same time. It’s hard for me to read books when I know I will hate the ending though. Still sounds intriguing overall.

    • ocdreader says:

      I was so disturbed for a lot of the book, but it was crazy interesting and so well done. It was a hard review to write and I can’t stop thinking about the book! Weird.

    • ocdreader says:

      I was just discussing the ending with someone from paperbackswap – it is definitely a book you will want to talk to someone about when you are done!

  7. Pingback: Ah love, true love – “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn « Reading Through the BS

Don't be shy!

