Review – My Life as a White Trash Zombie

My Life as a White Trash Zombie

by Diana Rowland

purchased

Ahhh, this is a silly, engaging and kind of gross book.  It also has a yucky looking trashy cover (what is that, a mullet with part of the hair braided?) but with the prettiest pink pepto bismol background.  I loved it.  Angel Crawford is a loser, druggie, drunk with a pill habit who can’t hold down a job.  She wakes up from a bloody accident in the hospital with no scars and little memory.  She is given a note and some jars of a coffee type “energy” drink she is instructed to drink every other day.  There are weird things floating in it, but it tastes great.  She is also told about a job she is set up for driving the county morgue’s van.

This is a super fun take on zombies.  They can function like normal humans as long as they keep energized with…I am sure you can guess what they need to eat, the movies got some stuff right.

So Angel figures out how to function, keeps a job for the first time in her life and gets involved in a mystery.  Someone is lopping the heads off of people and keeping the heads hidden, just when she is hungriest!  The mystery wraps up ok.  There are some twists and turns and a satisfying slightly romancy end.  It was sweet and enjoyable.  Not really a repeat read but I will be looking for the other books in the series.  3 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Review – My Life as a White Trash Zombie

  1. diannegray says:

    Very weird cover – but I kinda like it!

    A moderate read? I’m interested that you want to read the other books in the series. Do all zombie stories come in a series? (sorry about my zombie naivety!)

    • ocdreader says:

      It seems like most urban fantasy/romance books have series, and this just has a main character as a zombie instead of a shape-shifter or vampire. Some series start a little slowly and ramp up, so even if I am in the moderate camp, if I like the characters and see a lot of potential (esp if it is different enough from other stuff I have read) I am going to check out the next one in the series.
      I think there are a lot of zombie stand alone books, but I haven’t really read them yet! 🙂

  2. I liked this one, can’t wait to read the next one.

  3. Sara says:

    OK, sorry, but YUCK! In other news, Outlander just came in for me at the library!

  4. even though it didn’t rock your socks off, it still sounds pretty good. You enjoyed it for the msot part and I always wanted to read this book, so I think I am going to get it.

    • ocdreader says:

      It is totally fun – you will like it. I think I personally just hit a weird patch which affected both my rating and my really lame and short review. Sorry about that.

  5. beckyday6 says:

    Ha ha, the title caught my eye straight away! A romancy end? There’s zombie romance now?! Who knew lol.

Don't be shy!

