Review – Snow Escape

Snow Escape

by Roberta Goodman

Won contest on the author’s website (woot!)

So it is hot here right now, really hot.  I decided reading about a snow storm of epic proportions shutting down NYC and providing opportunity for a crazy person to stalk and mentally manipulate a 30 year old teacher would be just the ticket!  The first few pages were ok, some background, some long sentences that I would have shortened up and then I got sucked in, but hard.  What the heck was this guy going to do next?  What was Allegra going to do, where would she turn, who would call her a lunatic next?  Also, I don’t think I could handle doing an online dating service now, thank goodness I am hitched.  Eeeg.

The story is great and thrilling and scary and I just wanted to keep reading.  The problem is that the dialogue isn’t always too realistic.  Some characters more than others.  The building’s super is supposed to be an idiot, but during his statement to the police it sounds like he is reading something.  He was “awakened” instead of woken up.  Little things, but I think this story could really pep up by removing some of the repetitions and by making more of the dialogue character specific (some characters were pitch perfect though).

However, the story races along and keeps you reading regardless.  Then is kinda stalls and becomes a bit of a police procedural as we follow the detectives who figure out who did what.  I generally like that type of thing, but changing it up meant that the tension mellowed out a lot.  So the book’s hold on me lessened though I still wanted to know who the heck was messing with her.  Things weren’t quite as life and death and there was a bit of repetition as people are interviewed.  In the end the tension ratchets back up a bit.  All in all, it was an interesting story and absolutely gripping at times.  3 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Mystery, Thriller. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review – Snow Escape

  1. diannegray says:

    I like your comment about dialogue – it can be so hard to get it right! The best author I have ever read for dialogue (and everything else for that matter) is Salmon Rushdie. He takes a character and gives them an idiosyncrasy (I think that may be the right word) and then he follows it through for the entire book. He doesn’t even have to say it is that person talking because you know it is due to their distinct ‘voice’. Also, he uses a different word for speech for the entire book (I think I counted about 300 in Midnight’s Children – I’m a bit anal like that LOL), so instead of saying ‘he said’ he uses ‘he muttered, he shouted, he called from behind’ etc. Wonderful stuff!

    • ocdreader says:

      That is totally anal! I love it. I have that book on my TBR – I haven’t even tried to tackle it yet, now i am intrigued. I loved Haroun and the Sea of Stories and am excited to get the 2nd book to that.

      • diannegray says:

        Haroun and the Sea of Stories is a wonderful book. It was one of the first ones I gave to (forced) my son to read when he was about 12 and he loved it. He is a prolific reader (like you) and also does book reviews for the newspapers. Having said that, he doesn’t review my books because he thinks it’s a conflict of interest (bugger!!!)
        All Salmon Rushdie books are beautifully written and he’s probably one of the funniest writers (as in hahaha) I’ve ever read. But sometimes you have to read paragraphs over again so you don’t miss things – they can get very heavy because of his layering technique.

  2. I am so getting tired of books that stall at certain parts. I have been putting books down and never picking them up lately. But I guess overall this doesn’t sounds like a bad book

    • I ALWAYS do that…usually with the intention to pick them back up! I have been trying to get better about that though…This book had a great premise and story and I really NEEDED to know how it ended. AND with kindles I have a hard time peaking into the back…sooooo, I actually have to read the whole thing (I am terrible sometimes)

Don't be shy!

