Quick Review – The Canterville Ghost

The Canterville Ghost

By Oscar Wilde

Library

What a charming short story!  Sir Simon has been haunting Canterville Manor for 300 years.   He has sent women into fits, men into hysterics and caused servants to flee.  It has all been very proper and he has been given all that is due his station.  That is until an American family buys the house, the furniture and the ghost in it.  They don’t understand they are supposed to be frightened. They don’t get that he is in charge, they don’t plan on living with his howling, rattling and deathly appearances.  They offer him oil for his chains and throw a pillow at his head.  According to Sir Simon, they are rude!

Wilde pokes fun at Americans and the English and it is quietly hilarious.  Poor Sir Simon, he doesn’t quite know what to do.  His usual schtick isn’t working.

Very funny, charming and silly this audio book (only one disc, very short) was wonderful entertainment for my commute.  I love Wilde’s tongue in cheek humor at just about everyone.  I need to read more of his stuff.  4 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Quick Review – The Canterville Ghost

  1. Short story, ghost story and humor sounds great. I have it on my kindle must check this one out.

  2. diannegray says:

    I totally love Oscar Wilde. The Picture of Dorian Gray is one of my faves (hmmm, maybe I should change my author name to Dorian)

  3. Sounds like a cool little story. The cover sucks though. lol.

  4. beckyday6 says:

    Ohh this sounds like an awesome little story, great review. 🙂 I might have to check this one out at some point, especially as it’s a short read!

  5. Nutschell says:

    Sounds like a fun read! I just finished Crocodile on the Sandbanks by Elizabeth Peters (adult mystery, not my usual read, but I did enjoy it). Now I’m listening to Brodi Ashton’s Everneath.

    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

Don't be shy!

