Review – Certain Girls

Certain Girls

by Jennifer Weiner

This is the sequel to Good In Bed 12 years later.  I picked it up from the library on audio to listen on my drive to work.  It was ok.  I think I would have enjoyed reading it more.  I feel like I miss so much when I am listening.  However, I really liked the readers, they did a fantastic job conveying Weiner’s wry wit and humor and were also great because the POV changes with each chapter between Cannie and her daughter Joy.  In the book there is nothing marking the change and because the library wanted the audio back before I finished, I picked up the book to zoom through the last 5 discs worth of book.  I kept getting confused who was talking until the context slapped me into understanding!  I missed the audio.  Oh well.  I have been contrary these days wanting what I don’t have.

Anyway, it is mainly a story about Joy growing up and her mom not wanting her to.  Joy is 12 and about to have her bat mitzvah, she is trying to change her image a little, be more popular and get some space from her mother.  There are funny and painful parts and everyone learns something.  So that was satisfying.  However, I really sided with Joy most of the time.  Probably because I don’t have kids and can’t understand Cannie as well as another mother could. But I was super annoyed with Cannie because she was such an ostrich about so many things, which I find really weird because I completely loved her character in Good in Bed and she had some of those same qualities then too.  She is still funny and spunky and self-deprecating but in this book she seemed so fragile, which isn’t something I thought she was.

Cannie is an author and I thought it was a little unreal the money she made from her one big book.  She was able to buy a house with her very first book’s advance.  Pretty sweet but, really?

It is a coming of age story for Joy and well done.  The end event shocked the heck out of me.  I don’t know where that came from or why.  It was out of the blue and sad.  I didn’t really like that part or understand why it had to happen and it felt like I had switched to a different book, but it did make Cannie and Joy go where they needed to go in their relationship.  Life is all about curveballs and surviving them and Weiner threw a big one at her characters.

I can’t seem to get myself too horribly excited about this book, it was enjoyable and time passed quickly while I was reading/listening and it did make me laugh.  It is cute and well-written, I give it 3 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Chick Lit, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Review – Certain Girls

  1. Awww, this sounds cute. I love the cover.

  2. diannegray says:

    Oh – I just wrote a long response to this and my stupid computer shut down on me.

    Okay here we go again –

    Endings – I wrote a post on this subject recently. Do you think the ending was too much? Or did it make sense?

    Sometimes an author can leave a book for a while before writing the ending and their style may have changed slightly. I’ve read books where the author’s style has changed during the book (which can be quite interesting!)

    I know I said something intelligent in my first comment to this, but can’t remember what it was now 😀

    Nice work!

    • LOL – that always happens to me!
      Yes, your post was quite timely with my reading of this book! In the back of the book I did read that Weiner had the ending worked out in her head before she started writing – which made sense once I finished because it did feel a little different, she wrote them at “different times” at least in my mind! The ending made sense…just the event that turns things about and leads to the ending…I was a little surprised by…one of those life issues that trumps all other life issues.

  3. A.M.B. says:

    I like Jennifer Weiner, and I had been so excited about reading this book, but I ended up being very disappointed. I did not like the ending at all (and I felt she pulled a very similar trick in THEN CAME YOU).

    • ocdreader says:

      Ooh, good to know, I haven’t read that book. I might, but it might be a while before I pick another one up to be honest!

  4. Claire says:

    Hi!

    I’m interested in the difference you found between reading/listening to the book. I’ve enjoyed audio books in the past (especially Stephen Fry reading Harry Potter!) but yesterday I picked up my first chick lit audio book, An Autumn Crush by Milly Johnson. Had it on while I was pottering around the house, and I already know I’ve missed a lot of detail. Will have to let you know if it works out (and if the book is any good!).

    Cheers,

    Claire

    • ocdreader says:

      Awesome! You know, I should grab the Harry Potters on audio. Those would be so much fun to listen to! 🙂 Great idea. I think I might do better with a story I know so there isn’t as much pressure to catch everything.
      Yes, do let me know about Milly Johnson, I haven’t ever read her stuff, but I would love a new go-to chick lit author 🙂
      I LOVE your blog by the way, it makes me want to read a Marion Keyes book or something. So much fun.

Don't be shy!

