Review – Lighting Candles in the Snow

Lighting Candles in the Snow

by Karen Jones Gowan

received from the author for review

This novel centers around Karoline, a woman who has to completely reinvent herself.  Her husband is unfaithful and lackadaisical and after she takes a hard look at what she has allowed…she changes things.  But has a hard time with moving on with her life once those changes have happened.  So life throws her a few curveballs until she has to ENGAGE and start living.

But once she doesn’t have work to hide in any longer, she doesn’t do much of anything.  She can’t seem to move forward and she does a lot of reviewing of her 5 married years.  Did she do something wrong?  What happened?  Her husband never told her about his childhood, he wouldn’t talk about the past, or much of anything.  This book is about divorce, communication and diet.  But it is also a lot about family and what is important in life.  Most chapters end with an actual recipe for something yummy, so Jones gives us wonderful culinary recipes as Karoline figures out the ultimate recipe for happiness in her life.

So, she is at loose ends.  She worries about weight but can’t exercise.  She is having a really hard time.  I don’t read many books like this, where things are pretty true to life.   People do bad things, make bad choices, but love can ultimately bring you to do what is right, and you might get a second chance at happiness.  Most of my heroines kick booty and take names.  Karoline doesn’t know what she wants and dithers, until she knows exactly what she wants, and then she won’t take no for an answer.  Once she figures things out…she becomes ferocious and driven and purposeful.  It is lovely to watch her blossom and you end with hope, budding love and happiness.  3.5 stars.  Karoline also eats oreos just like I like to, we connected.  🙂

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Review. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Lighting Candles in the Snow

  1. Hey, thanks for the review! I love your insight into Karoline 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      Thank you for the book! I enjoyed it, especially since I thought it would go one way and completely shocked me with another. 🙂 I love that!

  2. diannegray says:

    Great review (again). My sister-in-law would love this book. She is obsessed with novels that include recipes! 😀

    • ocdreader says:

      They are a wonderful treat and I wasn’t expecting them – but some sound awesome – pear and blue cheese soup will be tested!

Don't be shy!

