WWW Wednesdays (Sept 19th)

Happy WWW Wednesday!  Play along with our host MizB from Should be Reading and answer the following questions.

What did you just finish reading?  What are you currently reading?  What are you reading next?

I just finished reading The Everything Theory by Dianne Gray – awesome mystery/thriller filled with science and archeological finds.  It made me feel a little bit smarter for having read it.  Also finished The Girl Who Chased the Moon by Sarah Addison Allen.  Her books always make me feel happy.  I really enjoyed it.

I am currently reading Revamped by Beck Sherman.  I got it from the Read it and Reap program on goodreads.com and it is scary, thrilling and kinda gross.  Vampires have taken over the world…what do you do?  I am also reading Darkness Before the Dawn by JA London – a YA book with more vampires.  I think I am going to be done with vamps for a while after these.

What is next – I am thinking about reading a few things, I will pick Anna Dressed in Blood back up soon (I read the first couple of pages) and I just checked out a few YA books from the library: Clarity by Kim Harrington and the Peculiar kid book with pictures by Ransom Riggs.  They look like such fun!  We will see, I have been terrible about actually reading the library books I bring home.  Something else usually elbows in the way.  I also signed up for a couple of book tours (a cozy looking mystery and some steampunk) and will have to read those once they come my way.  Also, bookclub picked the book Perfume by Patrick Suskind.  Ok, I am stressed out now.  What was I thinking going to the library?!  🙂

So what are you guys reading this week?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Meme, WWW Wednesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to WWW Wednesdays (Sept 19th)

  1. NiinaC says:

    You know I really wanna read The Everything Theory now! 😀

    Old follower. Here is what I’m reading this week! Have a great one!

  2. diannegray says:

    Thank you so much for mentioning my book, Elise 😀 Wonderful!!

    I haven’t been reading anything because I’m back at work this week after a month off – I’m even struggling to get into my favourite blogs on WordPress (checked out yours first, naturally)

    😦 Oh, I need another break already!

    Have I told you before that you are the bestest?! 😀

  3. Beth says:

    The Everything Theory sounds interesting–I’ll have to look that one up. I liked The Girl Who Chased the Moon, too. Enjoy your reading week!

  4. The everything theory sounds fantastic!!!! I’m going to be keeping an eye out for that!

    Get WWW post.
    Here’s mine
    http://mummyandhergeeks.wordpress.com/2012/09/19/www-wednesdays-sept-19/

    Happy reading x

  5. I was wondering about Anna Dressed In Blood. The cover is awesome.

    Have fun reading.

  6. Irish says:

    I absolutely adored Clarity! A fun snark-filled mystery. I hope that you enjoy it too. Your other books also sound like good reads as well. I’ll have to check them out.

    My WWW Wednesday can be found here.

  7. Cathy I says:

    I just finished “Perfume”, by Patrick Suskind. Interesting read with the classic “dryness” and pessimism I find in German authors. It tells the story of a child, born to a sociopathic mother, who is without scent. He does however have the perfect olfactory organ to discern even the faintest of scents amid the soup of stench that was 18th century France. He ultimately finds his way to become an apprentice perfumer, and learns how to perfect and bottle the scents of his world. (Which is an interesting window into the beginnings of the perfume industry) He has inherited his mother’s mental illness, which is quite likely worsened by his dismal childhood (nature vs nuture) and he seeks the perfect scent in which to cover himself so that he will be loved and revered. He finds it in the scent of virginal and beautiful adolescent girls and extracting that scent involves their death. The ending is a classic tale of “be careful for what you wish”. Thought provoking.
    I’m also reading “The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry”, which I can’t seem to finish, but enjoy in small doses. Next hopefully will be the 5th book in the “Game of Thrones” series on which I am hooked. I am also carefully hoarding the 3rd book in the “Abarat” trilogy for a very special read. I don’t want it to end!

    • Awesome – hopefully Perfume has enough for us to talk about next meeting 🙂 I also have been hoarding Abarat #3 – I should pull that sucker out..but I kinda want to read the first two again – that could be fun!

  8. Have you read “The Eight” by Katherine Neville? For some reason your first mentioned book reminded me of it. It’s wonderful!

    http://wellreadfish.blogspot.com/2012/09/www-wednesday_19.html

  9. nutschell says:

    Those are a lot of books! you rock. I have yet to make a dent in my TBR pile 🙂

    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

    • ocdreader says:

      Haha – you misunderstand…I bring in more than I read, my TBR seems to grow exponentially! This is me barely treading water 🙂

  10. pooks says:

    How did you know that all you had to do to tempt me was say I’d feel smarter if I read it? That is, only if I don’t have to work too hard. 😉

    Sometimes a book grabs my attention by its cover. Anna Dressed in Blood grabs me because of its title. I need to find out more about that book. Maybe I’ll let you read it first.

    planetpooks.com/?p=4968

    • ocdreader says:

      I just finished Darkness, so Anna is in my hand – review to follow in a couple weeks probably 🙂 I LOVE the cover and so far so good – I am going to join a reading “challenge” and it will fit right into the theme – RIP…perfect to get ready for Halloween

  11. Kwizgiver says:

    Great book suggestions… several I need to check out. 🙂

Don't be shy!

