Review – Spirit Bound

Spirit Bound

by Richelle Mead

dusty gem from bookshelf

When I began swimming in the deep, dark waters of paranormal, vampires and werewolves, I started reading this series.  I loved them.  They are YA, the stories are action-packed and Rose was a kick ass heroine who was smart and action oriented.  She is mentally bound to her friend Lissa who is important and special.  Rose is a guardian who keeps the living (good but weak) vampires safe from the dead (bad but strong) vampires.  I don’t know what happened, but after Rose traveled to Russia to find and kill the love of her life who had been turned into an evil dead vampire I lost traction.  That was a tough book for me because Rose lost her sense of purpose and self.  So I finally picked Spirit Bound up as a part of a “clean my shelves of dusty books that need to move on and out” feeling that I couldn’t shake.  I am now back in the groove and am really excited to read the last of the series.

So Rose has a plan in the second to the last book in the series.  She has found a possible cure for Dimitri, how to change him back from dead vampire and get him his soul back.  She is dating Adrian, but Dimitri is who she thinks about.  She and Lissa try some really risky things, get caught, get in trouble and nearly die.  It is a crazy story and has a crazy end!  I MUST read The Last Sacrifice in the next month or two to get to the conclusion and I am thinking I might have to get into the Bloodlines series next.

Rose is a little out of control in this one.  She is yelling at everyone, even the Queen, in front of many witnesses.  She doesn’t think too much, but acts.  She thinks she is the ONLY one who can do much of anything and is surprised to find other people with competent abilities.  She is also surprised to find out that blund edge trauma is not always the best way to fix something.  She needs to work on her nuanced and delicate skills.  She is a teenager, and this is YA, so the angst and anger should be expected.  No one will listen to her, she ruins her image by her lack of self-control and she needs to do some seriously fancy footwork in the next book to gain her freedom and the job she wants.

I recommend these for anyone who likes paranormal YA.  They are a fun ride, some folks love, love, love them.  There is intense love, change within a society, people learning to fight for themselves instead of relying on others and a lot of politics.  There are also a lot of action fight scenes with Rose kicking dead-vamp bootie.  I give it 4 blood-covered pointy stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Spirit Bound

  1. I finally bought this series after my blogger friends yelled at me for not haveing read them before. I STILL have not getten to them. Ugh. So little time.

    • ocdreader says:

      haha! I totally hear you, I just commented on your blog how I have only read the first Kitty book. But it seems like EVERYONE else is reading #10 or something like that.

  2. Ely says:

    Since you posted on our blog, I thought I’d come and return the favour and I just happened across this post 🙂 Vampire Academy is one of my absolute favourite YA series ever and I just love hearing other people’s thought on it!

    Thanks again for posting on our blog.

    x Ely

    • ocdreader says:

      Hey thanks for swinging by! I have been circling The Last Sacrifice and want to read it before the end of the year…hopefully! 🙂

Don't be shy!

