Review – A Kiss at Midnight (Fairy Tales #1)

A Kiss at Midnight (Fairy Tales #1)

by Eloisa James

paperbackswap.com

I just finished a YA dystopia so I picked up a romance, because that’s how I roll apparently.  This one was reviewed and recommended by Ilona Andrews so while I don’t read that many romances without paranormal elements, I decided to give this one a whirl.  It was cute, it was funny and it made me happy!  It is a Cinderella story, but with a much stronger heroine, Kate who talks back to her step-mother and her one step-sister (who is more ditzy than mean).

Kate has been asked to pretend to be Victoria (her step-sister) to meet a prince who has final approval on who Victoria’s fiance can marry.  Victoria has an infected bite on her lip and the beauty can’t be seen and impress the prince herself.  It is up to Kate.

Kate and the prince Gabriel spar.  They fight, they bicker and they have some wonderfully hot dramtic tension between them.  Delicious.  But the prince is betrothed and Kate is supposed to be Victoria, they are not meant to be – no matter how enticing their kisses and how much they want each other he has responsibilities.  Sad, our little Romeo and Juliet pairing have to give each other up.  But there is, of course, an HEA!  It is a fairy tale after all.  Yea, so it is happy and silly and sweet.  Oh yea, and pretty hot.  Wooosh.  Some fun little scenes.

James also mentions that since this is a fairy tale retelling, she doesn’t worry about keeping the language historically correct, though she says it would have been set during the regency.  I didn’t really care much because I don’t know all that much about that time.  If you do, it might bug ya.  So, I don’t read many romances unless there are vampires or werewolves ghosts…but I really liked and enjoyed this book.  I give it 3.5 twinkly romance stars!  I am ordering the next fairy tale book in James’ series too.  Weeeee!  Romances with crazy long-haired dudes on the covers (meaning lack of girls with tattoos and alpha animals on the cover), here I come!  I tried to send this home with my sister, but she turned her nose up at it (she must be an anti-romance book person).  Oh well.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review – A Kiss at Midnight (Fairy Tales #1)

  1. I was wondering about this one after Ilona recommended it. It seems kind of like an average romance, nothing spectaculer. But your review made me want to read it more.

  2. Sounds like fun. I might give it a whirl.

  3. diannegray says:

    It’s good to step out of the comfort (genre) zone and test new water ince and a while. I’m not really into romance, but this sounds quirky and interesting. Well done 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      Thank you! I like to try new stuff (to me) anyway. It was silly and cute and had enough to the plot besides the two leads to make it enjoyable.
      After the sci fi book I am reading I think I am going to try Bizzaro! I am excited, it is going to be weird up in there!

Don't be shy!

