R.I.P. – The Graveyard

I am participating in the read-a-long of The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman and we are all posting about graveyards today hosted by Carl from Stainless Steel Droppings.  The hero of The Graveyard Book, Bod Owens is in danger in the normal world and has been taken in by ghosts who raise him as their own in their graveyard.  It is the safest place for this living boy, even though it is severely haunted by all sorts of spooks and specters and unknowns…

Graveyards are fascinating, and none more fascinating to me than that above ground tombs of New Orleans and Paris.  I toured Saint Louis Cemetery #1, Catholic cemetery opened in 1789 which has been in continuous use since, on a Ghost and Voodoo Tour in New Orleans.  One tomb to make sure to see is Marie Laveau’s, the noted voodoo queen/priestess of New Orleans.  Her tomb is covered in triple X’s which our tour guide said means that many people have tried to invoke her spirit.  Basically make a wish and hope she helps, just like when she was alive knocking on her door.  I can’t imagine going to this graveyard at night and running into someone performing whatever ritual they think they need to do to talk to Marie…Especially since all voodoo is not created equally and who knows what type of ceremonies happen!

You aren’t allowed to mark on any of the mausoleum’s in New Orleans any longer, and I read that they paint Laveau’s tomb white each year…but people still mark on it and leave her offerings in the hopes that her spirit will hear them and help out.

In Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress series Marie is a goul and lives beneath this tomb, still running things  in the supernatural world…

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Random, Readers Imbibing Peril. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to R.I.P. – The Graveyard

  1. Is it weird that I LOVE graveyards…like a lot. I feel so comfortable in them.

    • ocdreader says:

      They are usually quite calming for me too – I like checking them out when i have the time. 🙂 I guess it might be a little weird, but only a little, I think.

  2. diannegray says:

    I actually like visiting really old graveyards (daytime only). People think it’s a bit weird – and they’re probably right.

    Another great post and the novel sounds really interesting 🙂

  3. Ooh, a ghost and voodoo tour sounds creepy even in daylight! Do they do an evening one? I don’t think I’d go!

  4. abookdragon says:

    I can’t imagine going to New Orleans and NOT going to a graveyard! I’ve read several books where the go on midnight ghost tours {shiver}

    thanks for the comment! It is a very nice place to visit, even with the graves 🙂

  5. Jenna says:

    Ooooh that sounds quite interesting and very creepy! I’d love to go a graveyard tour. Thanks for sharing.. now I will be off to find some creeptastic New Orlean’s graveyard tour books!

  6. Pingback: The Graveyard Book Discussion Part 2 | Stainless Steel Droppings

Don't be shy!

