Review – 5 Moons of Tiiana

5 Moons of Tiiana

by Paul T. Harry

won a contest at Little Hyuts (thank you!)

This book is epic.  Wow.  The book is told in first person by Rez Cantor.  I don’t know what to tell you about the plot except that Rez is a soldier and saves his Princess from death by the conquering aliens of their planet.  They barely escape and as they enter warp they are nuked from kingdom come into a rend in space.  He wakes up on a beach on a different moon, a different solar system many many light years away from home, alone and broken.  This is Rez’s story, his adventures and the fulfilling of a prophecy of these moons.  He has a lot of work ahead of him, he has to figure out where he is, try to find the princess and make it back home.

The characters are so well rounded, exciting and developed.  The moons are filled with amazingly different races with crazy attributes, but you can picture them easily as they are masterfully drawn and described.  Harry uses imagery and a fluid writing style to keep you reading, interested and so involved in what is happening.  Though don’t expect things to happen quickly.  A LOT happens and a LOT of time passes.  But it is realistic.  He has to recuperate, escape from slavery, recuperate, teach, learn to fight with different materials and speak new languages.  He also has to do a lot of planet hopping and figuring out how to fix a mess that has been coming to a head for a long time.  He travels to each of the five moons and meets aliens on each one.  There are a lot of names and alien races to keep up with.  But it is great!  The world building really is amazing.  You learn about the current state of things on each moon and how it got there, things are complex, but told well so it is easy to understand.

The first half of the book is following him around and figuring out the races, getting the lay of the land, making allies and locating the enemy.  Then you get strategy, battle plans, maneuvering and people management.  Then of course the battles and the war.

For these moons to fix the issues from a war many years prior, they need Rez to work some magic and fix things.  It is complex.  I am not one to normally read a war book but this is only a portion of the story as much of it is figuring stuff out, working with aliens with different backgrounds and cultures and abilities.  It was really well done, masterful how the players moved and the background was pieced together.  Things are tied up, questions answered and a whole bunch of exciting things happen at the end.  It was so good and it looks like there could be more books. I really hope so!  The book ends at a good spot, but there is definitely more for Rez to get into.  I really enjoyed this book, if you like science fiction and stories in space, this might just be for you.  4 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Science Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review – 5 Moons of Tiiana

  1. diannegray says:

    This sounds great. I’m not good with remembering names in books though and I tend to get lost when there are a lot of characters. But this one sounds as if Paul keeps them on track.

    I’m also interested in looking at the covers of the books you review as well (because I’m having nightmares about what cover to put on my latest novel) 😦

    • ocdreader says:

      I do too! but I motor through and hope that things make sense by the end. He does a great job, though I was confused about names, I remembered alien race and who/what they were
      what genre is your new book? I never paid that much attention to covers until I started reviewing…

      • diannegray says:

        Hmmm. Not sure really. None of my books really have a genre, they’re kind of ‘cross-genre’ (I think you know what I mean here). This one has a bit of a fantasy/YA / philosophical theme to it 😉

        I decided on the cover last night and am pretty happy with it 😀

        I might email it to you to see what you think…

  2. This sounds like a really good sci-fi. I love seeing what kind of aliens an author can make up.

Don't be shy!

