Review – Once Burned

Once Burned (Night Prince #1)

by Jeaniene Frost

purchased

Oh I loved getting back into the world Frost has created with Cat and Bones!  What fun.  I had a great time reading this book and sucked it down in two days, even though I was trying to read other things, it bullied its way into my hands.

Vlad is contacted by Leila, who has been kidnapped by his enemies for her abilities in precognition.  She is rescued and helps Vlad figure out who is behind her kidnapping, because ultimately, they are after Vlad.  Her other talent is shocking things with her right hand.  Vlad is the only one that can survive the massive voltage.  Things heat up literally and metaphorically when they fall into each others arms.

I enjoyed this story.  Leila is pretty hard core.  She has survived a lot and has to survive so much more during this book.  She is tough, but so is Vlad and they pretty much work.

The only disappointing thing with the book is that it is missing the snark and sly humor Vlad has shown as a peripheral character in the Grave books.  He and Leila are deadly serious in their discussions about his being cruel and strong and how he won’t change who he is and fall in love with her.  They work well together, she is cruel and strong but is melting into his fiery embrace.

The bad guy is pretty good, very similar to Vlad so he is a tough foe to conquer.  Vlad and Leila work well and have a lot of heat between them.  Though she is nursing some issues since her accident and he has had a long and varied life they have some speed bumps and issues, but some very smokin scenes (Frost does those quite well).

I really enjoyed it and ate the story up, though if Vlad was as sly and devious and snarky as he was in the Grave books I would have DIED of joy while reading.  So, because I hoped for so much from him, I can only give the book 4 flaming stars.  You could read this without having read the others.  Cat & Bones make a quicky appearance and there really isn’t any mention of previous adventures.  I will read the next one in the series.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review – Once Burned

  1. diannegray says:

    I love the way you say, ‘it bullied its way into my hands’. 😀

    Nice work, again 😉 I love reading your reviews…

  2. Cathy I says:

    More brain candy! The only problem is the picture on the book cover. That is definitely not how I pictured Vlad. My husband will have a field day with his comments!

    • ocdreader says:

      haha – yea, with the blowing hair and six pack – you need to create some paperback book covers. I heard from Ron about that too. 🙂

  3. OOMMGGG. I want to read this book bad. I don’t like the some of Vlad’s snark is gone but this is a must read no matter what.

Don't be shy!

