Review – The Christmas Wedding

The Christmas Wedding

By James Patterson and Richard DiLallo

dusty gem from the bookshelf

This is a little confection of a book about Gaby, the mother of four, widowed three years before.  She has been asked for her hand in marriage by three of her best guy friends and has decided to gather her children and friends and potential husbands to her wedding on Christmas Day.  She won’t tell anyone who she has picked, even the grooms.

So, it was cute.  Each of her kids have conflict that is either resolved or somewhat resolved by the help of Gaby or luck.  So you get a bit involved with the characters and their lives.  But it is a really short book, so I had a hard time remembering who was who and didn’t feel super connected to anyone.  They were interesting and it was a cute, sweet family dynamic.  But something was missing, more information or depth I think.

Also, I was enjoying the main storyline for a while, but once she picks her guy at the altar I felt like I was watching the Bachelor or something.  I don’t go for those reality TV shows, and don’t like to watch who picks who, so I just wasn’t into that aspect.  I didn’t know the guy characters that well, so I wasn’t rooting for anyone really and with all the build-up, I felt almost let down once the choice was made.  I think I am a weirdo or something.

But it was fun, quick and adorable at times, with some difficult issues being dealt with.  No one has an easy life, but they deal with what they are handed with aplomb, but the touches are light so it doesn’t bring you down.  Some grandkids are whipped into shape, happy and sad things happen and some of the characters are quirky and enjoyable.

Anyway, if you are looking for something quick and sweet, a little sappy with a large family making it work, check it out.  3 stars.

On another note – What am I doing reading Christmas stuff already!?   I think I am just so excited for fall that I jumped right into winter.  I still have an RIP book to read and review before October is over…gotta get on that.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Chick Lit, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – The Christmas Wedding

  1. diannegray says:

    I like James Patterson but I’ve never read this book. Do you think it would have been better if it was longer?

    • ocdreader says:

      Yes, I think there were too many people to be as short and quick as it was. The overview of the characters made me like them…but it was a passing feeling and then the book was over and one and tossed in a pile – brush your hands, on to the next. Needed a bit more meat (for me anyway!)

  2. Awww, I like the concept. I love Bachelor so this is totally for me. Great review.

Don't be shy!

