Review – The Care and Feeding of Stray Vampires

The Care and Feeding of Stray Vampires

by Molly Harper

purchased

I was looking for an easy, silly and fun, sexy romp with vampires and the human women that love them and definitely found that in this book.  Since vampires have announced themselves to the world a new service industry has been born.  Iris Scanlon caters to the undead and helps plan weddings, buys blood and food, helps with pets and is basically a personal assistant to those that contract with her.  Though she works during the day to avoid her night-walking clients.  She works for many on the vampire counsel and takes on a new client they have brought to the area.

When she literally trips over this new client, she breaks many of her own rules by bringing him to her house to help him figure out who poisoned him.  Most likely the same person behind the mysteries Cal is currently investigating.

Iris is an interesting character.  She makes her living by catering to the undead, but doesn’t want much to do with them otherwise.  She is honest, hardworking, not yet financially solvent and raising her younger sister so she is a sister-mom hybrid.  She has a lot on her plate.

When Cal offers her a large sum of money to stay at her home, she simply can’t resist, even though she really wants to.  Cal is arrogant, a bit of a jerk and been around a long time.  But the poison has left him weak and in need of help.  He has no idea who to trust and realizes Iris is his best bet.

There is a little bit of a mystery – someone has been introducing odd toxicology to the blood supply causing unwarranted attacks by vampires.  The Counsel has been covering up the attacks, but needs to find the cause before humans go medieval and start with the mobs, pitchforks and torches (metaphorically of course).

So while I loved the situation and story I couldn’t get totally behind the two falling for each other.  I don’t know if I felt it needed a little more time or something, but soon Iris is clinging like a monkey to Cal, then she shuns him and that is weird and kind of extended and then we have the ending.  The ending is exciting and the reveal is interesting with a pretty bad dude and a little misdirection.  I also liked that Iris is human and is only armed with a blackberry and attitude and still manages to kick a little booty.  But she runs a little hot and cold and since their romance felt a bit forced to me, I give it 3 stars.  I do think I will try another Molly Harper for when I want a light and silly paranormal romance.  I might see what the “nice girl” series is all about.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, Paranormal Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review – The Care and Feeding of Stray Vampires

  1. diannegray says:

    This is definitely a different take on the usual vampire story 😉 ( I also really like the name Iris for a main character)

  2. Cathy I says:

    Just finished the same book! I enjoyed it. I do agree that the romance was a bit unbelievable, but I think more unbelievable from the vampire falling for the heroine point of view. Again, hey, the whole story is truly unbelievable…..so. Iris is a strong character with personal and family responsibility high on her priority list, which I have to love.

  3. Oh wow, I though you were going to give it more stars from the beginning of the review, but I hate forced romance so it makes sense. I hate that. It is a fresh concept and sounds fun but I am 50-50 on getting it.

    • ocdreader says:

      I snuck that in, didn’t I? 🙂 It was fun, and I will probably read another one if it works out, but it wasn’t my favorite. Maybe my hopes were too high?

Don't be shy!

