Review – Perception

Perception

by Kim Harrington

library

I must have really liked Clarity because I went right over to the library to pick up Perception about a week later.  Honestly, I think it is because I have been reading some heavy and long books lately and needed a break.  And while the issues this book covers are not light and fluffy by any means, it just has a lighter feel than a lot of the other stories I read.  Our main characters are teens, they get along with their family members (even if they go through tough times), they are learning, the mystery isn’t too hard to figure out and no one we knows dies or gets thrown in jail or is the bad guy.  So nice!  🙂   To me, that makes it cute and fun.  Also, the book is super short comparatively speaking.

So, in Perception Clare is still dealing with the “love triangle” and she needs to choose.  Go back to her cute, sweet ex-boyfriend, Justin or go for sexy, intense Gabriel.  She and her family are also dealing with the fall-out from the mystery of the first book.  Her brother Perry is having a really hard time and is pretty shell-shocked.  But, when a girl turns up missing and her mother asks Clare’s family to do a reading, a panicked ghost shows herself to Perry saying “it’s happening again”.  He can’t really make head’s or tails of what the ghost is trying to communicate and Clare moves forward with her own life thinking things aren’t going to come to her.

Wrong!  They do.  She has to deal with some crazy stuff here.  It is scary, really scary what goes down and who is doing it.  But the book doesn’t make me scared, just when you reflect back on it and put it into real life.   Clare’s ability doesn’t help her much here either, or I imagine the mystery would be way too easy to solve, whenever she touches something the bad guy is out of the picture or he/she was wearing gloves.  Did I mention Clare can touch an object and see out of the person’s eyes who was touching/wearing/writing on it?  Super cool ability but easy to thwart if you know about it.

Clare has made some friends since the last book.  Not with the Queen Bee Tiffany who ruined her relationship with Justin, but oddly with her cronies.  And, she makes friends with another social outcast who might become a decent friend if they can both level with each other and learn to trust.  This book pulls you right in because it again starts with scene from the climax of the story, this time with Clare about to plunge a knife down at a girl…

Clare doesn’t work with the police in this mystery.  In fact, the police aren’t sure there is a mystery for a while.  But she gets pulled in on multiple fronts and the finale is pretty crazy.  We get some closure on some of the dangling story threads from Clarity and a good, easy compelling high school mystery from this novel.  Recommended for older teens as Clare is a good girl, but other teens aren’t on many levels.  There is also a little murder, obsession and snarky teens.  I liked it and will be picking up other Harrington titles as they come out.  3.5-4 stars

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – Perception

  1. I think this sounds amazing. I know what you mean when you need a light read. I feel the same right now.

    • ocdreader says:

      Oh, this and Clarity were perfect for light, fun reads with paranormal stuff and a mystery to go along with it. 🙂

Don't be shy!

