WWW Wednesdays October 31st

Happy Halloween everyone!  I hope everyone is ok and not horribly affected by Sandy the Frankenstorm.  My husband’s family was pretty lucky and only lost one car to the floodwaters.  Not too bad considering…

Now to business…Play along with MizB from Should Be Reading.  Post a link to your blog or answer the questions in the comments below.

  • What did you just finish reading?
  • What are you currently reading?
  • What will you be reading next?

I finished two books this week for some tours I signed up for with First Rule.  Dementional by Tonya Cannariato which was a crazy romp through multiple dimensions.  Quite enjoyable actually.  I just now finished Lakebridge: Spring by Natasha Troop and I am supremely disturbed.  This book seems nice, you are in people’s heads with this stream of consciousness type style and really get to know them and then WHAM, horrific.  😦  I am going to be thinking about it for a while.  Perfect for Halloween!

I am currently a couple of chapters into The Casual Vacancy and am excited to dig in further.  The townspeople are all either thrilled or horrified about Barry Fairbrother’s death so you know this will be a fun character novel.  It is our bookclub read this month and I need to get it done and to my mom.  I am also half way through the book That Quail, Robert.  It is super cute and I want to hatch a quail and have it running around my house too.

Next up, Lakebridge: Summer by Natasha Troop and The Devil’s Kitchen by Alison DeLuca.  I have a ton of books to read and seemingly no time to read them.  I really feel like I have slowed down considerably and it is stressing me out!  Blergh.  I am going to have to start reading short stories to keep the three reviews per week thing.  Hmmmm.  Maybe a switch up is in order!

What are you guys reading this week?!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Meme, WWW Wednesdays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to WWW Wednesdays October 31st

  1. KtTurner says:

    Great books this week, such a variety. Please come and check out mine. 🙂
    TurnersAnticsWWW

  2. diannegray says:

    They all sound really good. I can’t wait for your take on the casual vacancy.
    So glad your hubby’s family are safe 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      Me too! We were so worried they would have some major issues to deal with and it took them forever to call – was stressful. Our friends in Brooklyn say it was nearly a non-event for them, just depends on where you are located I guess.

  3. Most of these are new books to me. I am wondering how you will like Casual Vacancy. That one intrigues me to pick up but I haven’t yet.

    • ocdreader says:

      I have signed up for a lot of tours so they are new to me too. 🙂 I was going to hold off on Casual Vacancy, but since bookclub picked it…here I go! So far I like it, I really like Rowling’s writing style, so that helps too.

  4. Susan Oloier says:

    I’ve read mixed reviews about The Casual Vacancy. I’ll be curious to read your thoughts on it once you’ve finished.

  5. pooks says:

    I’m blogging my reactions to The Casual Vacancy (as you know) so look forward to your review. That Quail Robert–is that an old book? It sounds very familiar, possibly from my childhood.

    • ocdreader says:

      Yea, the quail book is older so it has somewhat dated language, but so much fun! I am looking forward to comparing our views of Casual Vacancy!

  6. I want to look into Lakebridge: Spring! It sounds like it’s right up my alley for genre diversification 😀 I hope to start on Casual Vacancy too (it’s sitting on my bookcase, but I pick it up every now and again just to feel the velvet-like cover, lol!) It has mixed reviews, but I’m not expecting anything in the Harry Potter proportions. Have a great day!
    Novel Reveries

  7. Irish says:

    Dementional sounds interesting but I think I”ll past on Lakebridge…I’m all for crazy, weird, & disturbing but I don’t like stream of conscious narration so thanks for mentioning that! And if you find that extra reading time you were looking for can you please send some my way? Thanks!

    My WWW Wednesday is here.

  8. David says:

    Not the first time I’ve seen The Casual Vacancy pop up in a WWW today. I’ve just started it, and hope to really get into it this weekend.

    My WWW for this week. Happy reading!

  9. beckyday6 says:

    I just bought The Casual Vacancy yesterday, and I can’t wait to start reading it! Attempting three reviews a week is tough work! How long does it normally take you to read a book?

Don't be shy!

