Review – Death by Bourbon & Giveaway

Death by Bourbon (Josiah Reynolds Mysteries, Bk 4)

by Abigail Keam

First Rule Publicity Tour

This is a fast paced cozy Southern mystery with a bevy of characters.  There are many characters with tons of backstory that I was a bit confused for a while (I haven’t read the first three books).  But the story is engaging, interesting and easy to read so I was able to dive right in.

Addison DeWitt, a handsome socialite has a fit after taking a sip of bourbon and dies during an engagement party.  Josiah likes to solve mysteries regardless of the danger, she is in a wheelchair after the adventures in the last book, but she can’t help but stick her nose in to try to figure out who has taken out Addison.  The problem, it doesn’t look like murder, but it feels like it is.  Did his penny-pinching wife who wanted to divorce him or his secret girlfriend who is so secret there is no proof they were together have anything to do with it?  Only Josiah can sniff out the culprit.

I enjoyed this book.  The characters don’t hold back with how catty and mean they can be to each other, yet they are still somehow friends.  It is set in Kentucky and I really enjoyed the little history lessons about how much blood has been spilled and how someone dying isn’t anything new to the area.  In fact, the soil almost demands it.

The mystery isn’t much of one, as the reader gets a few scenes early on to give a big fat hint about what is going to happen and who is planning it.  Josiah needs to figure things out though.  She also has a lot of things changing in her life.  But we don’t get a ton of backstory.  So if you haven’t read the other books you are sort of S.O.L. and you just need to piece things together from the narrative.  While I respect that, it was also tough to enjoy while pondering the possibilities.  Also, where Josiah might be hurting about different things in her life, I didn’t really identify the issues that easily.

So, while I did enjoy the writing and the wacky mean and funny characters, I didn’t get everything out of the story I think was there to grab.  So that was frustrating.  But I think there is enough there that I might start at the beginning and pick up Death by a Honeybee.  3 stars.

GIVEAWAY!  Click here to access the rafflecopter widget for a a tour wide giveaway which features a grand prize of a set of all four of Abigail’s books, signed, plus 3 8oz honeys from Abigail’s very own been hives!  2 signed copies of Death By Bourbon have been made available for a pair of runner-up prizes.

Death by Bourbon Paperback link –http://www.amazon.com/Death-Bourbon-Josiah-Reynolds-Mystery/dp/0615651593

Death by Bourbon eBook Link – http://www.amazon.com/Bourbon-Reynolds-Mystery-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B0098BMV54

About the Author

Abigail Keam is an award-winning author who writes the Josiah Reynolds mystery series about a beekeeper turned sleuth.

Death By A HoneyBee won the 2010 Gold Medal Award for Women’s Lit from Reader’s Favorite and was a Finalist of the USA BOOK NEWS-Best Books of 2011. Death By Drowning won the 2011 Gold Medal Award for Best Mystery Sleuth and also was placed on the USA BOOK NEWS-Best Books of 2011.

Ms. Keam is also an award-winning beekeeper who lives on the Kentucky River in a metal house with her husband and various critters.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for review from First Rule Publicity from the author as part of a virtual book tour. I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, First Rule Publicity Tour, Mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review – Death by Bourbon & Giveaway

  1. Thanks for the review and for kicking off Abigail’s tour! 🙂

  2. It sounds pretty interesting but not very engaging as a whole. I like the idea of a southern mystery though.

  3. Excellent review! I reviewed it too 🙂

  4. My Bookshelf says:

    I reviewed Death By Bourbon as well and agree that the mystery was rather without suspense. It was an okay read for me.

Don't be shy!

