Review – Lakebridge: Summer

Lakebridge: Summer

by Natasha Troop

First Rule Publicity Tour stop

Wow, this book picks up a couple of months after Lakebridge: Spring ends, after the big s***storm of  destruction.  The town has since weathered journalists who have crawled out of the woodwork to cash in on the strange events of this Vermont town.  Gil’s special power of being a Shleprock (remember him from the Flintstones?  Bad luck followed him everywhere too) has been unearthed, publicized and people are fascinated.  He won’t leave the house though, and the townsfolk are ready to run any new comers out of town.  So when Marcus, a man who can talk to ghosts and Sean, a trust-fund baby who follows and reports on destruction arrive, the town is primed to provide a less than welcome reception.

The same characters we know and love are still functioning, though some barely, and we are introduced to some new ones.  Troop makes you fall in love with some…which terrifies me, because the evil in this town feeds on good and love as well as evil.  I just don’t want to lose them and I just know someone I like is going down!   Also, since I am now used to the stream of consciousness type writing, I was engulfed quickly and enjoyed delving into minds and histories and really got to know these people.  But in the back of my mind I just knew someone is going to bite it…somehow and it kept me edgy.  That little bit of tension, knowing it is going to happen was awesome.  I felt like I was on the edge of my seat the whole time.

It was good.  It was crazy.  New characters, new wrinkles, some story lines end, others are just beginning.  I am so curious as to where Troop is taking this series of four books, how it is going to end, who will be left and if their lives will be worth anything.  I will be reading the next one when it comes out.  4 stars.

Quote I enjoyed:

“It was like she was writing into this null space where words went to die for lack of interest.” (74%) – (That was how I felt during my first few months of blogging!)

Lakebridge: Summer

Paperback link: Click here  eBook link: Click here

Lakebridge: Spring:  Paperback OR eBook

About the Author:

Natasha grew up in Southern California and received her Bachelor’s degree from UCLA in Comparative Literature. She also holds Masters Degrees in both Secondary Education and Creative Writing. Natasha currently lives in the Phoenix area with her spouse, son, daughter and menagerie of pets, including a Basset named Moose and a very overprotective collie dog. Aside from writing and teaching high school students to love theatre.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for review fromFirst Rule Publicity from the author as part of a virtual book tour. I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, First Rule Publicity Tour, Horror. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Lakebridge: Summer

  1. Cathy I says:

    Wow, I love the quote also. The books sound great, guess I need the first!

    • ocdreader says:

      Yes, I definitely recommend starting with the first. The second would still be interesting and creepy, but I like the progression.

  2. Thank you for hosting my tour today and for the reviews!

Don't be shy!

