Review – Dementional

Dementional

by Tonya Cannariato

First Rule Publicity Book Tour

This book starts out fairly confusing, but it all becomes clear…

When all scientists are called back to the lab because their super secret experiments are failing, Mark kisses his brand new bride goodbye and lets her know he will see her soon.  His dark matter experiment has gone on meltdown and he is sucked into a tour of different dimensions where he is still himself, but very different.

“I’m beginning to think every timeline has a moment of crisis – a turning point when that reality’s participants are forced to choose whether their space-time implodes or evolves.” (4%)

If you read it, you know how The Time Traveler’s Wife was, he would jump backwards or forwards in time, and most of them were to know a certain part or time of his wife’s. Well, Mark has had a meltdown of an experiment in dark matter or dimensional travel, but each consciousness he finds himself in, he has his wife Sarah to find. On these trips through the multiverse, he more deeply understands their connection as well as how everything else in the universe is connected. “I had gained valuable insights just by being in those forms. Previously, I would have felt that was impossible without extensive experimentation following the “work to disprove it” path of the scientific method.” (60%) Whether they are lizards, humanoids, amphibians, a planet to her moon, they have a push and pull and direct relationship to one another. It is lovely. Though a bit confusing with the talk of dark matter, electromagnetic pulses and some scientific jargon spaced a bit through, you don’t really have to know what a Boson Higgs particle is, or string theory, though I imagine you will get a little more out of it than I did if you do.  I don’t, so I figured it for science jargon and kept reading.

This book was so imaginative and interesting and quick it sucked me in, shook me around and finally spit me out. For a guy who travels through 8 or so dimensions, the book only comes to around 210 pages. It goes fast. There really isn’t any unnecessary description so it is all important.

“I was living through a strange, extended Groundhog Day experience in these parallel dimensions, and I never knew when to expect a reset.” (35%)

“I still had no guidance for how to approach the problem, or support system, as I meandered my way through the multiverse like a pinball flung by a random application of force.” (57%)

So Mark and Sarah are being pulled through dimension after dimension, but they are always together. It is beautifully written, all in first person from Mark’s POV and with his scientific recap, a little tiny bit like a Twilight Zone narration or something, with dialogue only when necessary.

After a couple of dimensions I was reading and wondering how Cannariato was going to conclude the story, really, how many ways could it end?  And it does, at a nice spot. But there is no full explanation for how it happens.  So I found it a little too pat and easy, though felt ok with it. I really enjoyed rolling through the multiverse with Mark and Sarah.  It was a love story and expands your mind, in a good way.  If you like science fiction and the idea of multiverse and some creative scenarios, you should look this one up!  4 stars.

About the Author

A voracious reader since she was a toddler, and an ordained spiritualist, Tonya Cannariato has now presided over the marriage of her love of reading and her love of writing. She’s lived a nomadic life, following first her parents in their Foreign Service career through Africa, Europe, and Asia, and then her own nose criss-crossing America as she’s gotten old enough to make those choices for herself. She’s currently based in Milwaukee with her three loves: her husband and two Siberian Huskies. She suspects her Huskies of mystical alchemy with their joyous liberation of her muse and other magical beings for her inspiration. She loves to sleep, to watch her interesting dreams, some of which are now finding new life in written form.

Book Links for Dementional:

Paperback link: http://www.amazon.com/Dementional-Tonya-Cannariato/dp/0615690602

eBook Link: http://www.amazon.com/Dementional-ebook/dp/B0091VOOUQ

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for review fromFirst Rule Publicity from the author as part of a virtual book tour. I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, First Rule Publicity Tour, Science Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Review – Dementional

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    Sounds great. It does remind me of the Time Traveler’s Wife. Love the quotes.

  2. Sara says:

    This book sounds really interesting!!

  3. Can’t wait to read Tonya’s books. This storyline reminds me of the World Fantasy Winning book, Replay, where lovers have to keep finding each other . . . a terrific novel that I could reread time and time again, pun intended.

Don't be shy!

