Review – Kindling the Moon

Kindling the Moon

by Jenn Bennett

I really enjoy characters who don’t know what they are fully capable of, and we follow them around and find out with them and their untapped potential as they blow the hair off everyone around them.  This is one of those books.

Arcadia Bell rocks it and doesn’t know it yet.  So modest.  So fun, such a ridiculous hairstyle with black on top and blond underneath, but hey, she has a halo and slings drinks for earthbound demons, so she is hip.

Seven or 8 years ago she and her parents staged their own deaths.  Her parents were accused of killing some folks high up in the magical community so to avoid death or something horrible, they disappeared.  Arcadia Bell was born to hide her true identity and her parents left her to her own devices to finish up college and the rest of her life.  But recently her parents were spotted in Texas.  The magical community is screaming for blood and Arcadia needs to find the demon who did the slayings to find out who was behind it all.  She has a deadline or people she cares about will be hurt, including herself.

The ending was crazy.  I enjoyed the whole story, even though the action lulled quite a bit in the middle, but the ending was my favorite.  We get answers, know who did the killings, who and what Arcadia is and who she can trust.  While the story is a lot of fact finding and learning who the characters are and watching them fall for each other, the ending pulled it all together and shocked and was crazy.  It was a bit different than other books as we get to see Arcadia come into herself and make some hard decisions.  And a lot of her detecting came in the form of asking for help and then dealing with her life while someone else looked through books.  But we do get some action and some crazy earthbound demon dealings and a little romancing and sexy times.  It was fun and I really enjoyed the ride.  4 stars and I am looking forward to the next book.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Kindling the Moon

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    I also love characters that don’t know what they are capable of. It’s so fun to experience their transformation with them.

    • ocdreader says:

      That is one of the things I enjoy most about reading, these characters that pull amazing abilities (paranormal or not) when most needed. and living vicariously through them!! 🙂

  2. diannegray says:

    I absolutely LOVE a great ending! 😀

Don't be shy!

