Review – In the Company of Witches

In the Company of Witches (Arcane Bk  #2)

by Joey Hill

purchased

This is my first Joey Hill book and I didn’t realize it had that much sexing.  BUT our lead character is half human / half succubus and the tall, dark and handsome dark angel bent on killing the incubus that came to her for help can handle her sex magic without dying.  She has been limiting her powers in her bordello and takes him up on his offer of sex with no strings.  Weeeee.  This is strongly in the paranormal ROMANCE camp.  Notice the emphasis.  It is well written, the characters are strong and the world they inhabit has some cool things.  They ride a kelpie into town for goodness sakes.  That was awesome!  But really it is about Raina getting over the trauma she endured at the hands of a demon.  He would force her to submit to him and even though she is a natural submissive, she cannot submit now without feeling PTSD type symptoms.  Well then enter Mikhael, a natural dominant to wants what he sees in Raina and wants her on her to do what he says and enjoy it.

I don’t know, I kind of forced myself to continue reading this one.  I promised it away on paperbackswap.com so I had to or just to mail it off without reading it, but took it on my trip just in case.  However, at the end I was really into the story, it goes: story, smexin, issues, smexin, issues, fighting, tension, smexin, STORYLINE!  Yay!  Yes, the smexin was super hot (which was weird since I read it around my boss and in the airport on the way home).  Yes, the characters were interesting and well rounded.  I think my issue was that I was just more in the mood for something to happen besides the relationship and since I thought this was UF (for some reason), it took me a long time to get settled into it.  If you like that kind of thing or are looking for something quite naughty….this is great.  Joey Hill is a wonderful author and her sex scenes force you to take a cold shower.  Sheesh.

The world is amazing.  We get a really interesting glimpse of hell that I wish we were able to explore more.  If you want some engine revving stuff, check her stories out.  Wow, amazing!  4 or more glittery stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Review – In the Company of Witches

  1. diannegray says:

    I just took a mouthful of wine when I opened this and nearly choked when I read the first line about the sexing (sorry – just had to tell you – it sounded very funny) 😉 and then it continued…

    I have to comment now before I take another sip.

    I haven’t read a sexy book in a while, but I see you have given this four stars so it can’t be too bad. As long as I have a shower close by – I’m prepared to give it a go 😀

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    I love Joey Hill for my hot kind of books. It you didn’t expect the sex then OMG, that is funny. hehehe. I am happy you enjoyed it overall. I want to read this series. I read her Vampire Queen series.

    • ocdreader says:

      I am a dope, I just didn’t look into it and had never read one of her books before! Oh well, live and learn. Now I know who to go to when I am looking for the smoking hot stuff. 😉

  3. Susan Oloier says:

    I’ve never read Joey Hill books before. I’ll have to remember her if I’m in the mood to read some steamy stuff.

  4. beckyday6 says:

    LOL! You make me lol. But in a good way! 😀

    Great review. 🙂

Don't be shy!

