Review – Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (and other concerns)

by Mindy Kaling

paperbackswap.com

I love Mindy Kaling and this book just cements it.  She will always be Kelly Kapoor to me, so I could hear her voice as I read her words.  Crazy fun.  This is a memoir of her younger life (how could it not be, she is still young, I think it is hip and popular to write your memoir for comedians these days), through getting her job working on The Office.

She doesn’t have any hobbies except for dieting.  If she gave that up, all she would have left is work.  She is a funny lady.  Somehow though, if you don’t know of her and her work, and understand her sense of humor, I don’t think you would enjoy it as much.  Though, my sister, mom and assorted friends have really enjoyed it (this book is making the rounds!).

It has been difficult to review because there isn’t a ton of substance to lock onto, but there are lists, essays, forays into her childhood and examples of how she is a wonderful best friend.  It kinda makes me wish we were friends actually, oh well!  It is silly, funny and you can read it very easily in a couple of hours.  She hasn’t really had too many difficult things happen in her life, except for the struggle to get into show business, but the conflict is fairly light, so it is not too difficult.  If you like Mindy Kaling’s work, pick this book up.  Silly good fun.  I give it 3.5-4 light twinkly and pink stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Humor, Memoir. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review – Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    EEEE I love her. She is the best on the Office. And her new show is pretty funny. I think this book sounds great.

  2. I listened to the audiobook of this – and while I liked it, I definitely agree that it was a little light on the substance. It was entertaining though.

  3. Nutschell says:

    The book sounds like a fun read!
    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

Don't be shy!

