Review – Sweet Venom

Sweet Venom (Medusa Girls #1)

by Tera Lynn Childs

library/free from amazon.com

Funny, I just picked this up at the library today and realized that I already had downloaded it onto my kindle while it was free on amazon.com.  Oh well.  I really am old fashioned and do much better with books in paper format.  This is a YA book about three girls, aged 16 who are descendents of Medusa.  Super fun!  I LOVE Greek mythology, really enjoyed the Percy Jackson series and these girls are GOOD, not all snaky bad like poor Medusa.  In fact, in “reality” Athena ran a smear campaign about Medusa that rewrote history.  I think because Medusa had the audacity to try to love Perseus.  The gods don’t like you to mess with their men!  The girls are protectors and are supposed to kill monsters that no one else can see, like the minotaur and the like who prey on human energy.  But they also have the normal teenage issues.  Cute boys, mean bully girls, new schools and killing Hydras.  I totally remember all that from high school, can’t you?!

It is cute.  Kind of a girl’s answer to Camp Half-blood.  They were separated at birth and a couple have some catching up to do.  There is a prophecy, some seals that need breaking, some boys that seem to know more than they should and you aren’t sure who is good and who isn’t.  It is light, only moderately touching on some heavy issues like bullying, emotional and physical abuse, neglect along with some growing up/coming of age stuff.  It is a very fast read and easy.  Things are resolved easily, the mythology stays fairly light and is given in dribs and drabs.

It was what I wanted which was to be diverted for a couple of hours.  I quite enjoyed it though wish it had some more background and follow through, there are so many answers I wanted!  As it is the first in a series, I am sure we are going to find out lots more in the coming books.  There is a break in the action at the end, but the story line is just taking off.  I will have to pick up the next book to find out what happens!  3.5 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Sweet Venom

  1. diannegray says:

    I love anything that has to do with mythology;)

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    I know when the first book in the series comes out there tends to be unanswered questions but if there re too much it’s no fun. We read books to feel somewhat satisfied. We need that feeling.

    Great review.

    I prefer physical books too.

  3. beckyday6 says:

    Sounds really good. 🙂 I love the front cover. I have to vote physical book every time I’m afraid. 😛

    • ocdreader says:

      Yea, I had to get a kindle for reviewing purposes…but I love the physical book so much more…and then I thought, well cool – they are great for planes, I have tons of books to choose from. You have to TURN THEM OFF for the first 15 and last 15 minutes of any flight – argh. Lame!

Don't be shy!

