Review – The Lamplighter’s Special

The Lamplighters Special (Crown Phoenix #3)

by Alison DeLuca

First Rule Publicity Tour stop

Satisfying conclusion alert!  The main storyline concludes but you know there is still work to do.

This book we get to follow Neil’s family, mostly his sisters.  Somehow his parents have been taking the drug that nasty Barbara and her brother Valiant Cantwell were making with the Marchpanes and they do nothing more than sit around.  So Neil’s sisters have been working their booties off trying to farm some land owned by a nobleman and his two sons.  Then they get called up to the Manor to work as chambermaids before a lovely female guest arrives.

Neil has been worried about his family since they disappeared without a trace.  Miriam, Neil, Simon and Riki meet back up on Lampala island to spend the summer frollicking with Mana, now the Queen of Lampala.

All sorts of junk happens.  There is a mysterious boy in the attic, a dreadful dresser who treats the girls horribly.  The nobleman is a pompous blowhard and the cook who takes them in is tough but fair.  Every hard won accomplishment caused cheers of joy and happiness, every time the beautiful but awful lady guest was a jerk I wanted to smack her.  What a wicked woman (can you guess who changed her name?)!  I was behind our heroines.  They are spunky and aren’t afraid of hard work.  They might not understand all they see and hear, but they put enough together and are good people so I was rooting for them shamelessly.  🙂

The trilogy was a lot of fun, the Edwardian setting, the steampunk device, the bad guys are the ends of their rope, desperate and evil…good stuff!  Definitely a fun YA trilogy with worthwhile characters to root for.  4 stars.  Be sure to enter the giveaway on the First Rule Publicity website, just fill in the rafflecopter at the bottom of the page!!

About the Author: Alison DeLuca is the author of several steampunk and urban fantasy books.  She was born in Arizona and has also lived in Pennsylvania, Illinois, Mexico, Ireland, and Spain.

Currently she wrestles words and laundry in New Jersey.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book for review from First Rule Publicity from the author as part of a virtual book tour. I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in First Rule Publicity Tour, Steampunk, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – The Lamplighter’s Special

  1. So glad you enjoyed Alison’s books! 🙂

  2. Thanks so much for the lovely review!

Don't be shy!

